crafty people needed

So I volunteered to run the craft room for our school’s Family Reading Night. And now I’m stuck, searching for inspiration in the book-related craft field.

I turned to the fine people at google, and here are some of the exciting & cool things I found.

These are kind of cute, but  I can’t see it taking that long to make a nametag.

I also like these, but where am I going to find that many laundry boxes on such short notice?

This is kind of a nifty idea, but again, not a lot of spare cargo pockets lying around our house. Same goes for this one, although how cool is that bookbag?

I’m definitely leaning toward this one, because I do have a lot of old paper bags.

There also seem to be a fair-amount of religiously motivated book crafts, but I’m not going there. Not even for this Kwanzaa family book-cover project (though I might do this one with my own kids).

Any other suggestions out there? Come on, crafty people, I need you!

February 12, 2007. books for kids.

9 Comments

  1. Kimberly replied:

    What about Barbara Reid plasticine illustrations? If you make the picture in a CD case, it’s portable, and even acts as a frame.

    Nameplates for books? Big square stickers? Sharpies, Mr Sketchies, stamps, and glitter.

    Bookmarks. You can be as creative as you like. Some of those triangly clips and some pompoms and googlie eyes?

  2. Leggy replied:

    Sorry, no help. I’m about the most uncrafty person out there. Good luck!

  3. Suzanne replied:

    Oh, I have no suggestions. I am so uncrafty. Just wanted to wish you good luck!

  4. chichimama replied:

    Umm, crafts. Books. I think the bookplate idea is a good one, or the bookmark. You could also have the kids make mini books? Paper, hole punch, yarn to string them together then they can illustrate and write in them?

    Arts/crafts are not my thing unless it involves knitting needles. But I will think on it for you.

  5. christie replied:

    I wish I could help but I am sooo blanking out right now.
    As soon as Ithink of something I’lllet you know.

  6. Jennifer (ponderosa) replied:

    Well, there’s the bookworm. When I was in elem. we made body sections of bookworm out of construction paper & every time we read a book we filled one out w/ our name, the book title, etc. So by the end of the year there was this huge worm on the wall in the hallway.

    I like the book made out of old paper bags but remember how dark they are — kids will have to use markers or only dark crayons or what they draw won’t show up.

  7. Daydreams and Musings replied:

    I’m probably too late and this idea is probably contained in one of the links above but, just in case it helps . . . At A Girl’s 3rd or 4th b-day party we gave books as a “goody bag” gift and to keep the kids entertained while they waited for pizza and cake, we had them decorate bookmarks. We had different color construction paper cut out in longer rectangles and had tons of stickers (including letter stickers) and markers on the tables. They could decorate as many as they wanted and then we laminated each one with one of those small portable laminating machines (love those!). We also had a single hole puncher and some yarn so they could string yarn through a hole in the top if they wanted to. A Girl still uses two of those bookmarks (six or seven years later)!

  8. Library Lady replied:

    I’m probably too late too, but the kids LOVE using the foam sticker stuff that is everywhere in the crafts stores now. I’ve used it for “scrapbooks” (blank notebooks and they glued stuff on the dovers) pennant banners (we bought one premade and then cut a bunch more out of regular foam), decorations for paper plate snowmen, crowns and lots more. The supplies are not that expensive, no glue is needed if you get the self sticking shapes. They work well with glitter glue if the kids are big enough for that–JR used it to decorate foam crowns for my Nutcracker program.

    Whatever you do keep it simple–the fewer requirements the better. One of my staff drives me nuts with her crafts–she PRECUTS tons of stuff. Wastes her time and there’s very little room for creativity!

    You can find lots of stuff at http://www.dltk-kids.com or at http://www.thebestkidsbooksite.com Have fun!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

