Sweet Potato, budding feminist

It’s sometimes easier for me to figure out how to impart feminist values to my daughter, than it is to my son. I don’t want him to grow up thinking men are bad (or that feminists think men are bad), but I tend to talk about sexism in a negative frame—i.e., by referring to the limits it places on women.

 

But there have been a couple of incidents lately that stopped me and made me realize that he’s picked some things up…

 

The first was when we were having a conversation about the kids in his class, and who liked to play soccer at recess. He named a couple of boys, and then one girl. I wanted to ask, is she the most tomboyish girl in the class, but about half-way through the sentence, I realized that I didn’t want to use the word “tomboy.” I paused after “most”, searching for another way to describe her, and the Potato looked up at me and said, “athletic? Yep.” And then just carried on…

 

The second was about a week after that, when he was telling me about his day at school, and some quarrel he’d gotten into with some of the kids in his class. “Prima and Segunda were making fun of me, and then they called me a girl. And I told them, ‘why are you making fun of me by calling me a girl. That just makes you sound like you’re worse than me all the time.”

 

The phenomenon of kids (of either gender) calling each other “such a girl” as an insult is one that bugs the crap out of me, so I was especially proud of him for that one…

 

November 20, 2012. thoughtful parenting.

One Comment

  1. granolasusan replied:

    So cool. Great to see him so comfortable sticking up for himself like that.

    How is the bee’s leg healing, btw?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

