moving

After months and months of looking, I’ve finally found a house to buy, back in the town where landisdad & the kids still live. Fingers crossed, I’ll be closing and moving in mid-January.

As the kids get older, especially the Bee, their lives are just increasingly not about spending every weekend moment with me (or their dad). Living in a different town has made everything harder—weekend play practice, hanging out with friends, soccer games—you name it, we’ve gotten stuck in traffic on the way there.

For most of the summer, I looked at houses that seemed like they would require a ridiculous amount of work, but they were all I felt like I could afford.

For most of the fall, I didn’t look at all, because I was consumed by work.

Finally, my real estate agent made me look at a house that was a little outside my price range, and I did some new math, and decided to take the plunge.

I’m not really looking forward to moving, but I am looking forward to moving out of my apartment. Two years has been long enough to live here, for sure.

And I’m not really sure what it will mean, long-term, with the custody situation.

I’d like the kids to be with me more during the week, although I need to figure it out in a way that balances my work travel with their need for stability.

And the Bee still hasn’t told everyone she knows that landisdad and I separated (and in fact, are now divorced). So it’s kind of hard to imagine that she’s going to start staying with me during the week.

But it will be nice to never again have to sleep on the couch in my former house, when landisdad is out of town.

December 22, 2012. the new normal, thoughtful parenting.

2 Comments

  1. jo(e) replied:

    That sounds like it will be a positive change.

  2. Susan replied:

    Here’s to not sleeping on the couch, for sure. And here’s hoping that the move goes swiftly and you all find a routine that works for you. (Is the Bee’s injury all healed now, btw?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

