in memorium

In honor of landisdad’s grandmother, who passed away last night at 97:

The Lake Isle of Innisfree, by William Butler Yeats

I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,
And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made;
Nine bean-rows will I have there, a hive for the honey-bee,
And live alone in the bee glade.

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,
Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;
There midnight’s all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,
And evening full of the linnet’s wings.

I will arise and go now, for always night and day
I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey
I hear it in the deep heart’s core.

June 29, 2005. random other things.

8 Comments

  1. blogdate « Bumblebee Sweet Potato replied:

    […] We’re getting ready to host our first post-kid Thanksgiving here. For the last six years, we’ve always gone to NYC for Thanksgiving, as landisdad’s grandmother wasn’t able to travel. This year, we decided that we should give his mom a break from the cooking, so we’re having her over, plus possibly some other family members. Unfortunately, that means I’m going to have to take apart my ‘office,’ which is currently located in our dining room. Grrr! I’m not looking forward to it very much. It’s a major cleaning job. On the plus side, maybe we’ll finally move the seven boxes of photographs out of this room… […]

  2. Comfort Addict replied:

    That’s beautiful. My mother passed away this past Sunday. It was not expected and has been very difficult (especially on my father) but we’re working through it. Since my mother is my closest relative who has died, the grieving process is new to me. I’m doing the best I can but would appreciate any advice.

  3. Dawn replied:

    Wow – she lived a very long life. . .97 . . .

  4. landismom replied:

    CA–my condolences. I have not (knock wood) lost a parent, and I can’t imagine how hard that must be. Our situation was somewhat similar (in that landisdad’s grandmother was only sick for a few days), but it’s very different when you’re talking about a woman who was 97, had a full life and a living will.]

  5. jessica replied:

    What a wonderful tribute. Although it sounds as if she had a long life, I am sorry for your family’s loss – saying good-bye is never easy…never.

  6. Leggy replied:

    I’m sorry for Landisdad’s (& your) loss. It is sad to see the passing of a generation.

  7. Robin Lyn replied:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. What a beautiful tribute.

    Know you are being held close in thought through this challenge…

  8. landismom replied:

    Thanks everyone for your kind thoughts & words. We came home today, after being in NY for the weekend. Everyone seems to be dealing with their grief pretty well, and it’s always good to be with the family at these times. I appreciate your thoughtfulnesses.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

