she’s gone

Well, amid a flurry of last-minute packing (lip gloss is very important), teddy bears and car seat shifting, the Bee has gone away. She was very excited when I dropped her off this morning, and barely even noticed when I left (she was playing with her cousin). I know that in many ways, this will be much harder on me than on her, and that’s a good thing. I know that the girl I sent away is not the same girl that I’ll get back next week.

In an odd turn of events, landisdad is also out of town today, so the Potato and I will be spending an evening alone. I’m happy that we’ll have this time together, but I don’t think he understands that his sister won’t be here for a few days (although we have talked to him about it). I’m sure he’ll be giving her a big hug when she gets back, though.

Unless he REAAALLYY likes being an only child.

July 15, 2005. growing up.

5 Comments

  1. dawn replied:

    enjoy your time with him!

  2. jessica replied:

    Enjoy your time with the little Potato.

    Has anyone told you today what a great mom you are?

  3. Leggy replied:

    I’ve been there quite a few times- its so hard, isn’t it? I’m sure she’ll have a great time and she’ll be so happy to see you when she gets home.

  4. Comfort Addict replied:

    Have a good time with the Potato. Is this the first time he’s been without the Bee for that long?

  5. landismom replied:

    Thanks Jess & Dawn. We had a good time tonight, and now he’s sleeping.

    Leggy–Yeah, I think she’ll be happy to get home (although she’s having a great time–I talked to her tonight).

    CA–Yes, it’s the first time he’s ever been away from her for any significant length of time. I think he’s definitely enjoying the extra attention.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

