The Potato is home sick today. He woke up with a fever, and was doing that kind of listless, draggy thing. We went downstairs for breakfast, and he threw up all over the kitchen floor.

I’m from the school of parenthood where sick kids get to watch tv all day (when they’re not napping). My kids are only allowed about 1/2 hour of tv a day normally, so this is a very special treat.

After I got him cleaned up and we took the Bee to day camp, we came home & started watching tv. (Yes, thanks to the beauty of AirPort, I can blog and sit on the couch watching tv at the same time. And I wonder why I never get any exercise.)

So here’s my question. Who the hell is this Diego, on Dora?

At one point in the Bee’s life, she was a Dora addict. In fact, Shame of My Life #1312 is that her first word was ‘backpack.’ I once impressed a teacher at the kids’ daycare by knowing the Spanish ‘Happy Birthday’ song, ‘Feliz Cumpleanos,’ which I learned from Dora. But she gave it up about two years ago. It seems like they’ve had the audacity to actually introduce new characters. I feel so out of touch!

August 16, 2005. random other things.

7 Comments

  1. Ashley replied:

    Diego is Dora’s cousin. He “works” with wild animal rescue (or some such).

  2. Leggy replied:

    Not sure about Diego as The Cutie Pie isn’t a big Dora fan (actually, its more that we tend to watch PBS & Playhouse Disney vs. Nick).

    Hope Potato is better. Cutie Pie has been sick for almost a week and Sunday was a particularly bad day for him- he was so sick he wasn’t even interested in TV!

  3. RainbowMomma replied:

    Ah, the Dora Addiction. We are smack dab in the middle of it. We only allow one or two shows a day as well. And it bothers me that she CONSTANTLY ask for it. Diego is Dora’s cousin, but I heard that he will have a show of his own soon. I guess that’s to appeal to the male Dora fans. Her baby brother won’t be big enough for her “Exploring” for some time. LOL!

    Hope the Potato is feeling better.

  4. Metrodad replied:

    Who is this Dora that you speak of?

    Hope the Potato is feeling better!

  5. Alexandra replied:

    Awwww, poor little guy! I hope he’s getting better. Any idea what’s wrong with him?

    My brothers and I never got to watch too much tv when we were kids either – not because my parents were aware of the damage of television, it was simply a case of my mom not wanting us messing up the house – anyways, the only exception was when we were sick. So I know the policy well 😉 We could never really fool my mom about being sick – we had to be really sick and since she would panic easily that usually meant going to the hospital and taking all sorts of unpleasant medicine. In general, we tended to hide our sickness if it was something that we could handle rather than pretend to be sick when we were not!

  6. Elizabeth replied:

    He’s an older cousin, I think.

    You don’t find the “unlimited tv when sick” strategy results in fibs about how sick the kid is?

  7. landismom replied:

    Well, in order to win this benefit, the kid in question has to convince me that they’re actually sick enough for me or landisdad to stay home from work, which is no easy feat. That usually requires vomiting (or other unpleasant excretions) or something contagious).

    The downside that results for us is extra whining by the healthy kid (who knows that the lucky sibling is getting to stay home and watch tv). But that only lasts for a few minutes.

    On a side note, when the Bee had shigellosis, and had to stay home for three weeks (!), this policy only applied for the first two days.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

