social promotion

I’m predicting this will be a slow blogging week, given the Thanksgiving holiday and the fact that my MIL is coming to town for a few days. But I wanted to take a minute to give some props to Grace from I Am Dr. Laura’s Worst Nightmare, for her work on the Katrina relief blog, Family to Family. The F2F blog provides info on families to folks who are looking to give direct material contributions for those affected by Katrina. The families are identified anonymously (for example–A Single Mom in Bay St. Louis), and there are very specific items requested, including sizes of clothing, particular appliances, etc. There are also links to online retailers and shippers, and addresses for churches or shelters to send the goods to.

I know that I’m going to spend a lot of this week overeating, and then will probably start my (mostly online) holiday shopping after that. I’m planning to include one of these families in my Christmas shopping this year. It’s been a hard year for planet Earth, between the tsunami, the war in Iraq, the hurricanes and earthquakes. At this time of year, it’s easy to succumb to compassion fatigue, and turn inward. In our family, there’s a lot to be thankful for. I don’t want to forget that.

November 20, 2005. politically motivated.

9 Comments

  1. Jeff replied:

    Hello Mum! You’re trading at B$329.39!

    This is something to be thankful for yes? I think so!

    So, what oh what is the story behind the naming? I would love to know!

    Thanks!

  2. MetroDad replied:

    AMEN!!! We all have a lot to be thankful for.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and the entire LM family!

  3. GraceD replied:

    How wonderful are you to promote the Hurricane Katrina relief blogs? Wonderful, indeed.

    Thanks so very much, dollin.

  4. landisdad replied:

    Hey sweetie,

    Okay, so it looks like it’s time for me to make an appearance here…

    With that buildup, I wish the stories were better. All I can say is that I remember on the Bee’s first morning (she was born in the early evening), I was holding her little swaddled self in the hospital room, and I just called her “bumblebee.” And it seemed to fit.

    The Sweet Potato got his nickname in utero, as I remember. Again, the muse just inspired me, I suppose.

    P.S. I can call you “sweetie” on your blog, right?

  5. Suzanne replied:

    Regardless of their derivation, I think that Bumblebee and Sweet Potato are just about the cutest nicknames ever.

    Thanks for this post, LM. I sort of “adopted” a family after Katrina, and I’m also planning on including them in my holiday shopping. “Compassion fatigue” is, sadly, such an appropriate term for how the onslaught of bad things can make you feel after awhile.

  6. landismom replied:

    Good lord, I better sell my shares now, this can’t last long.

    For those who don’t know what we’re talking about, Jeff bought up a bunch of shares of BBSP on blogshares, and I twitted him on his blog for calling me a mommy blogger. He twitted me back for not having an explanation of my kids’ nicknames on the front page of the site, nor a way to reach landisdad (since I’m directing readers to ‘ask their father’).

    So congrats, Jeff. You’ve managed to do something I have failed to do myself. You’ve gotten my dh to comment on this blog.

  7. Desperate To Be a Housewife replied:

    I looked and looked for Grace in the audience on Oprah’s “give away” day yesterday. She was featuring people who’d done good deeds for others…especially people who had helped out with the hurricane. What the hell?! No Grace?! She deserved that free laptop and $25.00 brownies dammit!!!

  8. Comfort Addict replied:

    Grace has been doing yeowoman’s work over there. I haven’t been to her blog lately but I really admire her energy and commitment. Maybe I’ll take a trip over there today (this house move is killing me).

  9. panthergirl replied:

    Isn’t Grace amazing??? I helped out a bit by posting the links to both of her Katrina blogs on Craig’s List. People can do that every once in awhile to keep the traffic moving there…

    Happy T-Day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

