weird kids

I’ve been tagged by chip from daddychip to write about 5 ways my kids are weird. When I first read his post, I thought, “hasn’t chip been reading my blog? isn’t my whole blog about how weird my kids are?” I guess that isn’t entirely accurate, though. Unlike chip, my kids don’t read my blog, so I can write about things in the present. Here goes…

1. I’m beginning to think that the Bee cannot tell a lie, especially when it involves following the rules. Oh, she’ll chafe against them, argue and scream if she doesn’t like it, but she will not break a rule and then lie about it. Sometimes I just want to tell her, “look, just go in your room and do what you’re gonna do, and Daddy and I will never know about it.” But I can’t do that, can I?

2. Sometimes, when the Bee is getting out of control, she pretends to be a dog. A dog that I named Pepper. For some reason, when she turns into Pepper, it’s easier for her to get back to normal.

3. Every morning, the Potato has a yogurt with wheat germ and a sippy cup of milk for breakfast (known to him as ‘yogurt-milkies’). He walks into the kitchen, opens the refrigerator, and inspects all of the yogurts. Lately, he’s been taking the dented ones out and saying, “it’s bokin!” and then putting them back uneaten.

4. After his yogurt-milkies, the Potato will insist on having a bowl of cereal, too. He always wants at least two kinds of cereal in the bowl–and it has to be a combination of whatever the Bee and I are having for breakfast. Who knew that Yogurt Burst Cheerios and Low Fat Granola with Raisins would taste good together?

5. Both of my kids will kick their covers off when they first fall asleep, no matter how cold it is. LD or I will always cover them up again, and they seem to stay covered up for the rest of the night.

And in return, I’m tagging: Ashley, Jessica, Metrodad, Chichimama and Scarlett.

December 17, 2005. memes.

8 Comments

  1. chip replied:

    great list! I love the Pepper the dog idea, I wish I’d thought of that about 12 years ago! And I can just see SP, “it’s bokin!” That made me laugh. I have to admit I kind of cheated in my list by including weird things I’d blogged about. But the current-day weirdnesses are off-limits to my blog, especially for my 14-yr old daughter…

  2. elise replied:

    I love the weirdness in my kids but like chip cannot reveal their eccentricities! Although, I guess just this one….My 13 year old son has always been “active” and still he always adds extra movement to whatever he does. Last night everytime we heard him going up stairs somehow he made it sound like he was climbing twice as many stairs as there actually are. We still don’t know what he was doing. Also to satisfy his movement need we occasionally will see him twitching around in seizure like spasms. Why, we have no idea. Sometimes his whole body jerks and sometimes just his head. If he notices we are looking he just laughs, yet he’s not doing it to make us think he is funny.

  3. moonface replied:

    great list! my almost four year old daughter turns into a kitten; and she has never had one kind of cereal – it has to be a mix of two or three different varieties. every morning it takes ages for her to decide which ones she wants -its not an easy decision to make.

  4. Suzanne replied:

    Oh, I met Pepper, didn’t I? I have to admit that I wasn’t sure what to do at first. Good to know the explanation!

  5. Comfort Addict replied:

    1. Cherish these times of truthfulness.

    2. When Megan, my oldest dog, gets out of control, she pretends to be a person who alternately whines, demands and cajoles to get what she wants. Unfortunately, this gets her further away from normal. The only way to get her back is to steadfastly endure her pleas until she gives up (anywhere from 10 to 45 minutes).

    3. LOL! I’ve run into many “dented” computer systems. I’ll have to try the “bokin'” line!

    4. I knew that the Potato was my kind of guy! I love mixing cereals together. My current favorite is the low-glycemic Uncle Sam’s Cereal and Nature’s Path Hemp Plus Granola. It not only tastes good but I love the conflicted statement I’m making.

    5. I sometimes need to have the covers off of my feet only. This drives Mrs. CA, who needs to have covers tucked, crazy.

    I enjoyed this post (even though I don’t have kids).

  6. The Scarlett replied:

    Here is my list. Admittedly it is lame. Yours, on the other hand, is great. I love Pepper the dog! And I love that bee had a scapedog (rather than a scapegoat).

  7. MetroDad replied:

    Hey LM,

    Been in the weeds for the past few days. Just saw this. As always, I loved reading your responses. I’ll post mine as soon as I can!

  8. Kdubs replied:

    LOL! I think your kiddos are as weird of eaters as my son. I’m hoping the to come will be more easy with food but then again, where’s the fun? LOL!?

    And my son turns into transformer and literally transforms into doing the right thing. I thought it was just us, FEW!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

