just got back…

from our three whirlwind days of fun & family in NYC, preceded by a day & a half of Christmas family fun here at home.

The kids got a ridiculous number of new toys. I got On Beauty by Zadie Smith, Watchmen (Absolute Edition) by Alan Moore (yes, I am a geek!), and an incredible new winter dress coat from my MIL. We ate too much, drank just enough, sat around and played games (UNO! Monopoly!) and let the kids watch a smidge more tv than we would have normally (LD gave the Potato the second DVD box set of Peewee’s Playhouse for Christmas). Landisdad & I even got to see two movies together in the space of four days, and I think the last time that happened was in 1998.

Now, it’s back to work for two days (for me–LD and the kids are off all week), and then a four day weekend. I could get used to this. I’m really too tired to write much, so here are some gratuitous kid pictures:

The Bee, opening a gift on Christmas Eve, at my brother’s house.

The Potato, reading one of his new books on Christmas morning.

The kids in their new matching jammies from Grandma (unfortunately, I did not get a better quality picture).

And one gratuitous cute thing my kid said:

(on eating his grandmother’s homemade chocolate mousse for the first time on Christmas night)

“I like this! my chocolate moo!”

LD and I cracked up over that one, and repeated it over and over again for days.

December 27, 2005. the cutest kids ever!.

8 Comments

  1. Suzanne replied:

    Sounds lovely! And the pictures are adorable. We’ll have to compare notes over On Beauty. I’m scheduled for finish it Christmas 2006.

  2. Claire replied:

    Ooooh, adorable pics. Glad you all had a lovely Christmas!

  3. chichimama replied:

    Glad you had a good time. The jammies are great. Both my kids had accidents in theirs on Christmas Eve, so there are no pictures of them in matching jammies.

    Enjoy the short week…

  4. Comfort Addict replied:

    I love those pictures. Your kids are so darling.

    As for the Potato, he comes up with another amazing construction (“chocolate moo”) on the heels of his previous one (“it’s boken”). I sense a book here. “Like You Were Two: Sweet Potato’s Fix for a Boken’ World.” It could be one of those short, “Everything I Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten” style books that tell people how to approach life with the honesty, curiosity and simplicity of a two-year-old. Or maybe I’ve just been working too hard.

  5. Kdubs replied:

    I absolutely love the pj’s… LOL… if I stayed overnight with my folks they would make my kids do the same LOLOL…

  6. The Scarlett replied:

    Cute, cute pictures. Sadly, we don’t do matching jammies anymore (it becomes more challenging when one of the subjects becomes a teen). I love seeing it, though, and it reminds me so much of my holidays as a kid. Merry Merry! (Oh, and keep those cute kiddie sayings coming. Love them!)

  7. Christie replied:

    oh lord those kids are beyond cute- Potato’s cheeks are so pinchable! hehe

  8. Jessica replied:

    I swear, your kids are the cutest, LM! Love their jammies and SP’s cute little robe!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

