sometimes when life hands you lemons…

…lemonade isn’t really in season.

We’ve had a rough, full of ups and downs week here at BBSP.

To summarize:

#1) A bad work situation for landisdad (which unfortunately involves me too) is causing him to leave his job. Which means that we will be losing over half of our income.

#2) A potential opportunity means that landisdad could end up doing something he finds a lot more fulfilling, although at a significant pay cut.

#3) A happier landisdad will be better for our kids.

#4) A landismom who feels like she’s been punched in the stomach will not.

#5) I may have offended Comfort Addict by commenting on his blog too soon after finding out about #1. Considering that CA is one of my oldest and most loyal readers, that’s pretty inexcusable.

January 9, 2006. random other things.

20 Comments

  1. Kdubs replied:

    Oh I’m so sorry! 😦 Living on one income or downsizing has been ROUGH for us. We eat food. That’s it LOL…. here for ya girl! Hugs.

  2. Sandra replied:

    I hope the new opportunity works out for your husband. We have only one income, so losing a job is one of my great fears. That punched-in-the-stomach feeling is awful. Good luck.

  3. Leggy replied:

    Ugh- I’m sorry you’ve been going through so much stress. Money stress is very hard- we have a bit of that at our house ever since I stopped working full-time, and its hard. But so is stress from having a sucky job.

    Good luck in sorting this all out. Sounds like its been a stressful week all across blogland.

  4. fidget replied:

    lemonade may not be in season but the most thrilling part of the rollercoaster is the fast swoop downward. You know it will make that upward turn but you just clench your butt cheeks and hope it’s soon. I’m sending happy vibes and prayers that things even out and make that upward turn soon

  5. Suzanne replied:

    I’m sorry to hear about LD’s job. It’s pretty scary to have your finances threatened like that. I hope that everything balances out: the ideal of being both happy/fulfilled at work and monetarily secure!

  6. Elizabeth replied:

    Good luck — I hope it works out.

  7. Jackie replied:

    we had a similar experience, which ended about 18 months ago, and it still gives me shivers to think about it. Fulfilling work is often worth sacrifices, once you look back at it, but when you’re wondering how to make it work, it’s frightening.

    best wishes and luck and everything else for you and yours.

  8. christie replied:

    ::big BIG hugs::

  9. The Scarlett replied:

    My husband changed jobs nearly three years ago. It is traumatic! But it is key to focus on as much of the good stuff as possible to get through it. Good luck to you!

  10. alala replied:

    Ooog, instability is so much scarier with kids around, isn’t it? Hope things pick up for you soon.

  11. Ashley replied:

    Sorry to hear about your troubles. Here’s hoping it all works out for the best!

  12. Daydreams and Musings replied:

    Sorry to hear you’re going through a rough time. I’m sure things will work out – hang on until you get there! (And I read your comment to Comfort Addict and I thought it was interesting, I hope he wasn’t offended!

  13. Jessica replied:

    Awww, LM….I am so sorry to hear this.

    For the record, I don’t think your comment was offensive – it was extremely well articulated (as always) and, just as CA referred to you, very socially conscious.

  14. Kathryn replied:

    You can’t put a price on the ability to do what you love. I hope it works out for landisdad. I trust that following that path will lead to better things. Good luck to you.

  15. Jim replied:

    I left a much better paying job for a career that’s much more fulfilling. And yes, I’m happier for it. And my children are better off for it; poorer, yes, but they get a better me and I don’t think my kids know they’re poor, anyway.

    Good luck to both of you.

  16. MetroDad replied:

    As always, LM, I wish you and your family all the best and hope everything works out well for everybody.

  17. Doppelganger replied:

    I’m so sorry, landismom. And yes, we too have been there.

    It’s funny, the mister and I were just talking about this: how when you have kids you suddenly feel this new financial pressure. But at the same time having kids makes you realize that life is short, that you want to set them a good example by doing work you love, and that you’re no good to your family if all your home time is spent de-stressing about your job.

    Things will work out in the end, I’m confident of that. They always seem to, anyway.

  18. Comfort Addict replied:

    Oh, Landismom, I am so sorry to hear the news about Landisdad and so sorry to have caused you to worry. You did not offend me. I so admire your strong beliefs and how you and Landisdad live your lives according to them. By contrast, I often feel like a bit of a phony (hence, the title of my blog).

    Don’t ever feel as though you can’t tell me what you think. I can be pretty insensitive sometimes. At those times, I’m glad when people call me on it, especially people whom I respect like you, Grace and Mrs. CA.

    I’m sorry that I haven’t been here as often as usual. I’m dealing with some things myself, too, and they’re taking time from my blog reading and writing. I’ll probably be a weekend warrior for a while.

    I’m hoping for the very best for you, Landisdad, the Bee and the Tater – my model American family.

  19. Becca replied:

    Hi – I’m responding to your comment on my blog and this–I once thought we lived in the same town too, but now I don’t think so. And I totally feel for you on this one, having just left a job that became untenable myself, and facing all the emotional (positive for me, like LD, but also terrifying) and financial (not so positive) ramifications. Becca

  20. Kimberly replied:

    Oh, LM, that sucks. What about Lemon Meringue pie? That’s ALWAYS in season. (Honestly, If I had a million dollars that I had to give away to someone in blogworld, you’d be at the top of my list.)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

