musical meme

My fellow Bored Housewife, Melissa, has tagged the rest of us with this meme.

List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they are any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now. Post these instructions in your blog along with your seven songs. Then tag seven other people to see what they’re listening to.

Well, I have to say that there are two cds I’m really digging right now, and they’re a kind of strange combination. The first is Jack Johnson’s Curious George soundtrack, which I bought for the Potato, and we’re listening to around the clock here. It’s a really good album, though, so I don’t mind at all. Three songs from there: “Upside Down,” “Talk of the Town,” and “With My Own Two Hands” are my personal favorites.

The other album is Mary J. Blige’s The Breakthrough, which landisdad gave me for Christmas. Of course, there’s the current single, “Be Without You.” And then there’s the cover of U2’s “One,” which you may have seen her perform with Bono at the Grammy’s. And finally, there’s “MJB Da MVP,” a song I fanwanked about months ago, when I first heard it in a pre-release version that was leaked to a local radio station. This is the song that makes me actually dance around the house looking like an iPod ad. It only got better, over the eight months I waited for it to come out.

The final song is a little number by Tracy Chapman called “Change.” I’m embarrassed to say that I first heard this song on an HBO ad while I was blogging and watching TV, and I thought, ‘that’s Tracy Chapman!’ so I went to iTunes and downloaded it instantly. It’s a good tune, despite my nerdly acquisition.

The tagged? You’re it:

Elise, Suzanne, Leggy, Comfort Addict, Alala, Moonface, Fidget

February 28, 2006. memes.

7 Comments

  1. MetroDad replied:

    Nerdly acquisition! Sacre bleu, LM! My wife and I LOVE Tracy Chapman and, strangely enough, we were just talking about her this past weekend. Can’t believe that she’s got a new song out. See you later! I’m off to itunes!

  2. kdubs replied:

    Ok. I LOVE the first two cd’s as well. Excellent choices! 🙂

  3. Suzanne replied:

    Boy, this is going to be embarrassing — there’s nothing even remotely hip on my list these days. But thanks for the tag!

  4. brettdl replied:

    Seth is currently listening to Laurie Berkner. We essentially listen to whatever he’s listening to.

  5. elise replied:

    I’m pretty pathetic and wasn’t even sure if I was the “Elise” that you were tagging…hee hee. I did refrain from listing any songs that my kids are curently practicing on the organ, keyboard, violin or viola although that seems to be the music I’ve been listening to lately! I take that back I did list four that Thomas currently plays (Scott Joplin’s and Vince Guaraldi’s and Edelweiss). Talk about not hip, who comes up with Edelweiss?

  6. Comfort Addict replied:

    This is going to sound funny considering my musician-ness but I’m not really listening to anything right now. I guess that shows what a hard time I’ve been having. I did hear a nice song called “Miniature Disasters” (highly appropriate for me these days) by a Scottish singer named KT Tunstall. I want to get her album, “Eye to the Telescope.” Maybe I’ll give it to myself for my birthday (49) this Sunday.

  7. Walnut Creek notary replied:

    ya there is nothing hip on my list. I do have some weird idiosynchraces that the normal mom shouldnt have. I love Jay-Z and U2. It is the gangstar in me hehe

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

