mahertna spree quiljot

For some reason, we persist in speaking English to the Potato, despite the fact that he's in that stage of toddler-dom where he acts as if he can't hear it about 98.6% of the time. In fact, today landisdad started speaking gibberish to him, just to see if he could get his attention, but that didn't work either.

It's a little frustrating, to say the least.

We've recently begun comparing living with the Potato to living with a rockstar. He's trashing his room almost every morning when he wakes up, and on weekends, again at nap time. He doesn't believe in naps anymore–just dumping all of the clean clothes into his dirty laundry, taking every book out of the bookcase, and emptying out the toyboxes (so he can sit in them and 'drive'). Today, my brother came over with my niece, the Butterfly. She's about the same age as the Potato, and yesterday, she found a tube of Desitin in her room while she was supposed to be napping, and smeared it all over the place.

It's nice to have a cousin of a similar age. Otherwise, I'd suspect that this kid would never be civilized.

The Potato is also sporting some incredible facial damage right now–first he got hit in the eye with a toy at daycare, then he tripped running on the playground and landed on his face. At this point, he's got a black eye, half the skin on his nose is missing, and his forehead has a huge goose egg. I'm surprised no one's called Child Protective Services yet. I'm carrying around the Incident Reports from his daycare in my purse, just in case.

I think all kids are accident-prone–the Bee has near-constant bruises on her shins and knees–but the Potato seems to be a special case when it comes to death-defying behavior. I can't tell if it's gender or personality. He's much more physical than either his sister or his cousin–he was climbing up on stuff when she was barely walking. And he's the kind of kid who thinks it's fun to just jump up and down in the same place, over and over again. Sadly, he's most likely to do this in the bathtub.

I'm sure that, growing up, he'll become more coordinated. My suspicion is that he'll become some kind of athlete, because he's just so interested in pure physicality. But for now, I'm keeping the band-aids close, and 911 on speed dial.

And we're hiding the Desitin.

April 14, 2006. growing up.

8 Comments

  1. Randy replied:

    OOH boy are you in for it when the Potato starts talking. Not so sure about boys, but my girls have never shut their mouths since. My younger, who’s ten, even talks in her sleep! Also, be careful when Potato gets a little more coordinated and starts to get into everything! You think you have eveything put away where he can’t get it and he finds a way! Best wishes to you and your family, an’ happy Easter!

  2. Shirley replied:

    I love to hear you talk of that child…a handful, but such a joy, I know.

    Important new post on my site.

    A blessed Easter.

    Shirley

  3. elise replied:

    My kids got into so much stuff that eventually there was nothing left in it except toys. I can still remember thinking I was a horrible stupid mother the day Thomas learned how to unscrew a cap, by unscrewing the cap on a bottle of rubbing alcohol….I remember smelling his breath to make sure he hadn’t drank any. I thought how bad it would have looked in a news piece “negligent mother leaves bottle of rubbing alcohol out where child can drink it”.

  4. Suzanne replied:

    It’s a wonder that humans ever lasted this long, given the wanton, reckless behavior of the youngest members. I can’t leave my daughter alone for more than 2 minutes (about the length of time it takes to go to the bathroom) because of the unpredictable mischief she gets into.

    It’s interesting, also, about the differences between siblings. My daughter (second born like the Potato) is so much more adventurous than her brother and makes my heart stop far more often than he does!

  5. Comfort Addict replied:

    I see a future in meatball (a.k.a. football) or extreme sports.

    Kidding. I hope that he grows out of it soon. Good luck.

  6. MetroDad replied:

    I hear ya, LM. The Peanut has an irresistable urge to climb everything in sight. It’s getting to the point where we wouldn’t be surprised if she’s the first person to climb Kilimanjero in diapers. Unfortunately, her fearlessness causes her to to bruise herself at least twice a week. Sometimes, I feel like she’s got a permanent shiner.

  7. Library Lady replied:

    JR is fearless and agile and (I knock on wood every time I say this :} ) somehow so far has managed not to do anything more than the occasional head bump.

    On the other hand SC who is much less active and far more fearful managed to break her leg while in preschool. Go figure..

    Though I betcha Potato is a lot more restful emotionally than Bee is–am I right?

  8. Daydreams and Musings replied:

    Yikes! Desitin – that’s not exactly easy to clean up. Then again, M Girl found the BLUE SUNBLOCK when she was about 3 1/2 and figured she could put it on herself. It was all over her AND the WHITE (brand new) carpet before I stopped her. We will never, ever buy that tinted sunblock again. Ever.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

