We're all feeling wistful in landisville today, because the Bee has gone to day camp by herself for the first time.

It's spring break here (yes, I know everyone else had it last week), and since we're shopping around for summer camps for the Bee, we decided that she should go to one of them for a few days during spring break so we can see how she likes it. Today was her first day.

She was nervous, of course, which resulted in a huge meltdown at bedtime last night. But LD and I had some discussions with her about how she'd make new friends and how brave she is, and then she wrote about it in her journal this morning after breakfast. She seemed perfectly happy by the time I left to take the Potato to daycare.

Landisdad called me after he dropped her off to tell me how it went, and I just called him again to talk about some other scheduling stuff, and we both sort of wondered aloud about what (and how) she was doing. It's times like these that I'm happy that I have such a wonderful partner to raise my kids with, because who else wants to spend ten minutes in the middle of their day thinking about the brave behavior of my first grader? (Except you, of course, dear reader.)

April 17, 2006. growing up.

4 Comments

  1. Comfort Addict replied:

    Landisdad sounds like a great guy. It also sounds as though you two have a great marriage. I’m sure that this makes the Bee and Potato feel more secure than they otherwise would. Not only that – they’ll learn how a cooperative relationship works and pass it on! Good job!

  2. christie replied:

    awwww

  3. Vicky replied:

    I’m lucky enough, also, to have a husband who’s a great dad. We spend soooo much of our free time discussing our kids and wondering about them through the day like you with the Bee. Hope she has a great time at day camp!

  4. Daydreams and Musings replied:

    Ain’t that the truth! Last night (and this morning!) I couldn’t stop talking about how our 5 year old cleaned a spot of barbeque sauce off my white sweater last night. It’s not a big deal to the rest of the world but it was a big deal to us. It’s nice to have someone who won’t say (or think) “Sheesh, will ya stop talking about those kids already?”

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

