I know, you’re tired of the basement

I bet you thought I was going to stop writing about my basement once it was finished. Too bad.

I always thought finished basements were tacky–shag carpeting? gross! drop ceilings? so declasse!

I've become a convert, friends.

Basement, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

  1. Yeah, though I walk through the valley of the rainy weekend, you are there, beckoning the kids.
  2. You let them scream to their hearts' content, while landisdad and I sit in peace, sipping coffee and reading the entire paper.
  3. Other children are lured to play at our house by your underground wiles, and I can actually get some cleaning done, instead of enduring a whine-fest about how boring everything is.
  4. And let's not forget the best part of all–my office-slash-dining room is back to having only the two functions, instead of also housing the many, many boxes of crap we insist on keeping. I no longer have to work in fear that my tax returns from 1992-20045 will fall over and crush me to death.

Why on earth didn't we do this three years ago?

April 25, 2006. random other things.

13 Comments

  1. Jessica replied:

    We just finished our basement, too (after about three years of living in our house) and find that it is where we go to hang out, watch TV, listen to music – it’s as if we’ve magically found another 1/3 of our house to use. Love it.

  2. Daydreams and Musings replied:

    Love it! That’s the one problem with having an apartment (all on one floor) and not having different floors. We actually have to deal with the kids sharing the space with us. And all rooms serve multiple functions – one being holding pens for clutter. But, for a city apartment, we have FABULOUS closet space. Since we’ve only been here a couple years, we haven’t totally overflowed said closet space with crap yet. Lucky us.

  3. jackie replied:

    so jealous!

    also, i have to say, your first two sentences made me laugh out loud in the middle of a very long and craptastic day, so thanks for that.

  4. chip replied:

    BK began doing tae kwon do a few months ago and we are realizing how great it would be if he could do his stuff in the basement instead of in the middle of the kitchen or living room. That looks like it’ll be one of my summer projects…

    Sounds like yours is just great!

  5. Anjali replied:

    My kids are in the basement right now, as I catch up on blog reading. I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t have my basment.

  6. Anjali replied:

    My kids are in the basement right now, as I catch up on blog reading. I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t have my basement.

  7. Beverlee replied:

    My kids are in the basement right now, as I catch up on blog reading. I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t have my basement.
    Just kidding.
    The best basements are those where the kids can have an ol’ indoor backyard kind of time. The whole “family room” thing can come later wehn they’ve calmed down a bit …

  8. Jennifer replied:

    so jealous! as my daughter screamed herself to sleep last night we daydreamed about having an upstairs. (No one has basements around here because of all the lava rock just six inches below the soil. Ah, a basement!)

  9. chichimama replied:

    So you’re saying I should embrace the finished basement in the new house :-)? Glad yours is getting such a workout! The lure of being able to read the paper is huge, huge!

  10. kdubs replied:

    Ohhh siipping coffee and reading the paper.

    You tease.

    😉

    Cheers,
    Kdubs

  11. Comfort Addict replied:

    Cool. I’d like a finished basement someday. In fact, Mrs. CA and I almost bought a house that had a wonderful one (with an extra kitchen!). Unfortunately, we learned that we couldn’t put up a privacy fence. That, combined with the small yard, would have made our dogs (hence, our neighbors) nuts. Sigh.

  12. DIY basement replied:

    i am in the process to finish my basement. kind of tired after completed the framing. next things are wireling, duck work, etc…
    not sure what kind of percentage the framing would take in the whole project. thinking about contract out the rest of the work.

  13. Tired Tunia replied:

    So jealous here . My hubby seems to think we could finish part of ours, but it is an old house, water seeps in the basement a few times every year, it is moldy, humid. Ugh. How hard was it to do?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

