where the grrrls are

First off, just let me say thanks for all the great book recommendations. I've filled up both my powells.com and my bookins.com wishlists, plus ordered a few things I just couldn't wait for. And let me tell you, I wasn't really looking for a strategy to get folks to de-lurk, but it sure worked–I can't remember the last post I wrote that got 20 comments in 2 days.

I also finished Never Let Me Go this morning.

Loved. It.

I wanted to return the favor, and when I got home Friday night, I found the perfect thing to recommend. My beloved Bitch magazine is turning 10 this year, and to commemorate themselves, the editors are publishing an anthology this summer. I have read every issue of this magazine since the first one–I think I found it at Cody's Books, on Telegraph Ave. in Berkeley. In fact, I once even got a snippy email from the publisher, Lisa Jervis, when I complained that I fell off their subscription list after moving to the East Coast, which I now wish I had saved–I was probably one of like 50 subscribers at the time, or else why else would the publisher have been emailing me?

For those of you who don't get enough snarky, feminist commentary on pop culture on the internet, this is your magazine. Bitch was the first thing I read that made me realize I wasn't the only woman over 19 watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer. The magazine that introduced me to Television Without Pity, and Sarah Jones, and LunaPads. Sure, it's not always SFW (or for leaving on the coffee table at home, now that I have kids), with its sex toy ads on the back cover. But it is always smart, and often hilariously funny. 

It's the one magazine we get (and we get a LOT of magazines) that I will read cover-to-cover, the day it arrives, and then spend the next three months moping around wishing I hadn't read it so fast. The one magazine to which I have ever written a letter to the editor. The one magazine that I lend to friends, to turn them into Bitch-junkies too. I'm definitely buying this anthology, and you should too. 

May 7, 2006. books for grown-ups.

6 Comments

  1. jackie replied:

    “Bitch” is one of my favorite magazines too! Brag moment– one of the things I’m most proud of as a writer is being published in their pages– I’ve done one short piece already and am working on a longer one for the fall number.

    I will DEFINITELY be getting the anthology!

  2. Jay replied:

    Cool stuff.

  3. Mere replied:

    I’ll have to pick it up. Can’t say that I’ve ever seen it. Thanks for the recommendations. Sounds like a great read.

  4. Doppelganger replied:

    I’ve been an on-again-off-again subscriber to Bitch for eight or nine years. Jesus, where did the time go? I’ll definitely be checking out the anthology.

    And I just finished Never Let Me Go, too. I’m still putting the pieces of my heart back together, but when I’m done I’ll be writing about it on my site. One of the best books I’ve read in a very, very long time. I’m shocked that it didn’t win the Booker, so I’m interested in reading The Sea (which did win, and which is still sitting unread on my shelf) to see if I like it as much.

  5. Beverlee replied:

    I subscribe to “Procrastinator”. I’ve never heard of it but can’t imagine it sitting on the coffee table or bedside table …

  6. Beverlee replied:

    Sorry jk about the procrastinator thing-y. Its just too big in my life!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

