tickled pink

Since landisdad started his new job, he's been working every Sunday. We alternate sleeping in on the weekend, and generally I get up with the kids on Saturdays, and sleep in on Sundays, at least until he has to go to work (and by sleep in, I mean until 8. Don't get your hopes up, parents of toddlers, the Bee still gets up 7, and the Potato's still in rising with the roosters mode). Most weeks, one or both of the kids will climb into bed with me when I'm lying there reading, and ask to be read a story.

Yesterday, however, the Bee climbed in bed and asked to read ME a story. I said yes, of course, and she hopped off to get her latest Junie B. Jones acquisition. She read me four chapters, and then I told her it was time for me to get up and take a shower before her dad left, and as I walked out, she kept reading to the Potato.

For those of you reading this who are not familiar with Junie B., she's not one been of my favorite kids' book characters. They're books that are written for an early reader, so the chapters are extremely short, the sentences are kind of choppy, and while Junie B. herself is a fairly well-drawn picture of a five-and six-year-old girl, I live with one of those, and don't feel any particular compulsion to read about one. If you had asked me last week, I would've said, give me Ramona the Brave any day.

But no more. From now on, I'm all Junie, all the time. Because that's what my girl wants to read to me, and I can't even begin to tell you how happy I am.

May 22, 2006. books for kids, growing up.

19 Comments

  1. Jay replied:

    That is so great to hear. Good for you for fostering the love of words so early. I’m sure it was one of many proud moments.

  2. alala replied:

    I love Junie B.! Okay yes, I like Ramona much better, but as I recall, I read those books much later – when I was nine or so. I think Junie’s more suitable for the 5-6 set. Though my five-year-old won’t listen to them. I think he’s just saying no for the sake of saying no, and I leave them lying around hoping he’ll change his mind at some point.

  3. chichimama replied:

    How exciting!!! I too loved Ramona. Enjoy the reading…

  4. kdubs replied:

    I love LOVE Ramona!

  5. chip replied:

    I loved those moments when big sister CB read to little brother BK, and he loved it too. For CB I think the main thrill was being the center of attention… In any event, she’s a totally voracious reader these days, though she does not subject us to reading aloud. On the other hand, I don’t get to read to them aloud anymore, although I’ll read an occasional Winnie the Pooh story, which they loved when they were little and which still gets them to cuddle up around me..

  6. christie replied:

    Ramona rules!
    hehe

  7. fidget replied:

    I’m reading Ramona the Pest aloud to mIra right now. Much preferable to Junie… oh and go check out crazy/hip blog mamas nominees =D

  8. Jennifer replied:

    I love Ramona, too. She grew up in Portland, OR, which is where my son was born : ) However my son much prefers Ribsy!

    How old is the Bee, that she reads so well? I can’t wait for that time!!

  9. Anjali replied:

    When I hear someone mention the Ramona books, I still get that giddy feeling in my belly. I loved them. It will be one of my happiest days as a parent when my daughter can read them with me!

  10. jackie replied:

    I have a t-shirt with a great picture of Ramona on it, gleefully puddle-splashing, and underneath it says “friend of Ramona”. I adore it– I think my friend got it for me in Portland, where there’s actually a Klickitat St!

    Ramona rocks!

  11. doth replied:

    Ramona was great! Did you ever read Judy Blume? Or the Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing series?

    Or Roald Dahl’s the BFG!

    Those were some of my favourites!

  12. ragdoll replied:

    Aw, what a cute, cute story. It’s so nice to hear how kids still find joy in reading–something that we tend to forget as we get older…

  13. Li replied:

    Love Ramona. Isn’t there always going to be a chic representing for each era? You are right. The reading is the reward.

    Also wanted to comment on your post a few days back on change. I can’t say I am up agains the same challenge at the moment. But I constantly think about the idea of who I am as a representation to my son. How can I expect him to be more if I cannot do that myself? Overcoming parental baggage is tough but untill you come to a point of forgiveness (that is not to say reconcilliation) or acceptance it is real hard to let go of the past and be who you are today. I have had this conversation with my husband over his own rightful baggage. It’s tough, but I always think tougher to carry that shit through your lifetime and then into your kids.

  14. Jim replied:

    Ramona rocked and I have to confess that Lilly LOVES the June B books (blechhh) but I’ve also managed to turn her onto The Wind in the Willows and Charlotte’s Web. Of course, Lilly is 7 but I don’t think the leap is that far, as long as you’re there to help her out.

  15. MetroDad replied:

    That’s AMAZING, LM! For a devoted rader like you, it must be the most rewarding feeling to have The Bee climb into bed and read YOU a book. I think my heart will burst with pride the day that happens with my daughter. Congrats on a great milestone!

  16. Vicky replied:

    My girls read the Junie B. Jones books. They loved them too.

    …but I’m with you on Ramona. When I was in grade school Beverly Cleary and I were likethis!

  17. jennster replied:

    that is so sweet! isn’t it something when THEY start reading TO you?!?! 🙂

  18. Ms Sisyphus replied:

    We’re big Junie B. fans here too. I tend to feel like if Ramona were narrated in the first person, she’d sound a lot like Junie B. I also really like the dead on portrayal of the grownups–Mother gets frustrated with Junie B. and hisses in a scary voice sometimes, and sometimes Missus just can’t take any more. They’re not saccharine, and I like that about them.

  19. guusje replied:

    I reviewed the first Junie B. about 5 -6 years ago and said she was a very watered down Ramona. However she’s #1 with a bullet where 7 & 8 year old girls are concerned.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

