job update

So I ended up not getting the job that I blogged about a few weeks ago. I think it's probably for the best, though, because when they got in touch to tell me that they were hiring someone else, I was hardly even disappointed. I can't remember ever feeling that way about losing out on a job before. Usually, even if I didn't really want the job, I'd be disappointed that they didn't want me. This means one of two things: either it wasn't the right fit, or I'm just not that interested in changing jobs right now. I guess the truth is somewhere in between.

Several months ago, I had started having some conversations with my boss about my work situation, and how it wasn't really right for me, and as a result of those conversations, I've just gotten a much better (for me) assignment. I won't have to be on the road as much, and I get to work in an office again, at least a few days a week. And remember how I was complaining about not going to enough meetings? I don't think that's going to be a problem any more.

So all in all, it's worked out for the best.

Here's wishing all my U.S. readers a happy Memorial Day weekend–hope the weather is beautiful where you are.

May 25, 2006. random other things.

11 Comments

  1. Leggy replied:

    Sounds like it all worked out well. I saw a job description today that I’m toying with applying for, but then I’m not sure if I want to go back to full-time right now.

  2. E. replied:

    Came across your blog via the crazy/hip mamas mom-o-week contest. I think you get my vote. Love the combination of politics, books, and life with kids. (Plus I identify with you even more b/c I too was 26 in ’94…) I’ll be back.

  3. chichimama replied:

    Glad it worked out for you! And good news about the changes in the current job!

  4. Vicky replied:

    Glad things worked out your way. Happy Memorial Day weekend (our long weekend was last weekend, but I’m still benefitting fromt the shortened week 🙂

  5. Beverlee replied:

    Cool. Just having the conversation can so often bring the change we need in so many aspects of our lives. Good going!

  6. Suzanne replied:

    Good for you for speaking up! I hope the new role works out for you, meetings and all.

  7. Shirley replied:

    Hey, you’re invited too. Please read my post from today. Don’t miss the comments.

    blessings,

    Shirley

  8. HeatherJ replied:

    It sounds like everything is working out for you. I have thought about talking to my manager about transferring to the corporate site instead of working on the project site, but the thing is I need a whole new environment. I hope your new assignment is great and less travel means more time with the kids which is perfect.

  9. Tawcan replied:

    Sounds like everything is working out. That’s great.

    I added you to my blogroll, hopefully you could do the same. Thanx.

  10. Jennifer replied:

    Hope you have a lovely Memorial Day, too, landismom!

  11. Kate the Shrew replied:

    Ah, I’m glad you were happy with the way it worked out.

    I think longingly some days of putting on heels and going to meetings and all, but mostly I’m glad that era is over, at least for now.

    Did you have a good weekend?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

