The Bee is a better woman than I am

Recently, I was wringing my hands about the fact that the Bee seems to have adopted my early method of no-hold-barred, go-for-the-jugular fighting. 

This morning, she and the Potato were having one of their squabbles in the other room, while I was eating breakfast. The Potato said, "I hate you!" to her (unfortunately, in his current state of language development, that actually sounds cute coming out of his mouth–more like "I hat oo!").

And you know what she did?

She said, "that's okay, I love you anyway."

I got all teary, and I went in and told her how proud I was of her for saying that. There just might be hope for us both. 

May 28, 2006. growing up.

17 Comments

  1. chichimama replied:

    Aw. I wonder if we’ll ever get to that over here…

  2. Sandra replied:

    So sweet. And actually, quite an effective technique for disarming one’s opponent–a good kind of one-upsmanship.

  3. Ashley replied:

    Excellent! Good going Bee and so very thoughtful too.

  4. emma goldman replied:

    that is so fucking cool. And you did exactly the right thing by noticing and reinforcing that behavior. the next step for everyone will be figuring out how to express anger and/or frustration without personalizing it (“I hate YOU”), but, hey, one step at a time! It really is cool.

  5. chip replied:

    we just got back from a multiple hour car ride, and we had waves of squabbling and fighting alternating with waves of wonderful sibling interactions. I don’t know how much longer I can survive the ups and downs… But the ups do make it all worthwhile, and make me realize that there is hope my kids will grow up into wonderful caring, nice, civilized adults…

  6. Beverlee replied:

    Awww. So sweet. She’s raising the potato to be a sweet, loving, man. Yay!

  7. Jim replied:

    I just wonder what she’d say to….

    MOOBS!!!!

  8. christie replied:

    awwwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  9. doth replied:

    Adorable!

  10. Mere replied:

    Well, see, she remembers the good things from you too. Of course there is hope.

  11. alala replied:

    Aww, what a sweetie.

  12. Kate the Shrew replied:

    Awww… what a girl.

    It’s nice to see that your words are sinking in, even if it feels sometimes like they’re just going in one ear and out the other.

  13. Carrie replied:

    So sweet! I wish I was that mature.

  14. Karl Laird replied:

    As long as it wasn’t just because she knew mommy was listening… :-p

  15. MetroDad replied:

    See, LM! Your preachings of nonviolence have paid off after all! Good for The Bee! I think that’s awesome!

  16. politically incorrect mom replied:

    Sometimes just as I’m wondering, WHY DON’T WE HAVE AN ONLY CHILD??? (due to the constant fighting, competing, etc.) I will catch the two of them being so kind and sweet to each other. It really is incredible and it makes me so glad they have each other.

  17. politically incorrect mom replied:

    That’s so sweet. Sometimes just as I’m wondering, WHY DON’T WE HAVE AN ONLY CHILD??? (due to the constant fighting, competing, etc.) I will catch the two of them being so kind and sweet to each other. It really is incredible and it makes me so glad they have each other.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

