puzzlin’

The Potato is a puzzle addict. He's not quite three, of course, so we're not talking about 1000 piece three-dimensional models of Notre Dame or anything, but he's very adept at doing puzzles, even some that I think are advanced for his age. And he has an amazing ability to finish a puzzle, and then turn right around and do it over again. Sometimes six or seven times. While you or I might consider this boring, to the Potato, it's a miraculous example of his own ability to do something all by himself, and what's more important to a toddler?

But oh, the puzzle pieces! They're everywhere. I step on them in the dark, when I go to his room to tell him to go back to sleep. We find them littered around the living room, the family room. I'd like to exile them to the basement, but we haven't finished painting it yet.  

Of course, the disarray of our puzzle storage program stems from the fact that the owner of said puzzles is not exactly a responsible adult. He doesn't always put them away when he does finally get bored. He does, however, get extremely frustrated when he can't find missing pieces. We have quite a few puzzles that may never be completed again. I'm not really sure where the pieces have all gone–I was talking to Suzanne the other day about the fact that I know that they're still somewhere in my house, but I can't imagine how we will ever find them. In the duct work, perhaps?

When the Bee was born, my MIL handed down some toys that had belonged to landisdad, back in the day. Among these toys was a puzzle from Holland that she had somehow kept intact for 30-odd years. Naturally, this is among the puzzles that may never be completed again, as the Potato seems to have lost at least two pieces. Did they get smuggled out to an underground used-puzzle-trading ring in New Amsterdam?

June 10, 2006. the cutest kids ever!.

8 Comments

  1. Suzanne replied:

    Our puzzles are a mess, too. A while ago I had the briliant idea of putting each puzzle in its own ziplock bag so that even if the puzzle became disturbed the pieces would remain in one place.

    That system lasted about a week, give or take; once my daughter got ahold of the bags they disappeared as mysteriously as the puzzle pieces do.

  2. Daydreams and Musings replied:

    I think all of our missing puzzle pieces are hiding along with the missing Spongebob flip flop and our Chinese-bootlegged DVD of Madagascar with the hilarious sub-titles that are allegedly in English.

    M Girl has always loved puzzles, too – even when we thought she was too young to do them. Could it be a second child thing?

  3. Jennifer replied:

    The puzzle pieces must be with all those lost socks : )

  4. fidget replied:

    Have you ever seen teh episode of “Author” that talks about the “sock market” maybe there is a similar thing for puzzles

  5. chip replied:

    it’s great he loves puzzles, my kids too loved them from an early age and I still remember the relief when BK would be totally absorbed in his 10 or 20 piece puzzle. We’d have quiet, a moment to just relax and enjoy his concentration on something other than mom and/or dad…

    As for missing puzzle pieces, oy! I think unless you put a GIS locator on each piece it’s inevitable, though maddening…

  6. Jessica replied:

    I love the imagine of him working hard to complete a puzzle with his little hands and then justifiably feeling pleased with himself for a job well-done. Too, too cute.

  7. MetroDad replied:

    Any time that we’re missing any pieces to a puzzle, I just assume that my daughter ate them. We’re usually right.

  8. elise replied:

    My youngest loves puzzles too. I sorted and put together many a puzzle in my day….I didn’t mind too much because puzzles are so good for the mind – I’m a sucker for books too, never can have too many, even if they end up piled up in every room in the house!
    I know the feeling of messing up one of those “treasured family heirlooms”. My mother gave me a book of childrens stories that her parents gave to her when she graduated from college with a degree in teaching – the kids promptly ripped out the page with the inscription from her parents….sigh. Its taped back in, but I make sure she doesn’t ever see it. My mother is 80 years old so the book must be pretty old…

  9. Kate the Shrew replied:

    Heh, sounds like my house. We’ve found a few of our missing pieces, either mixed in with other puzzles, or in the bags of “miscellaneous crap that isn’t trash” that sometimes get picked up and shoved in the closet when we’re doing a manic 10 minute house cleaning before people show up.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

