the best day

I think that the best days as a parent are the days that you get to act like a kid yourself. The Bee and I played hooky today, and went to the beach with her best friend, the Peony, and the Peony’s mom. There were some other members of the Peony’s family there, including a couple with a fifteen-month-old son.

I’m not that far away from having a fifteen-month-old myself, but let me tell you, I was pretty happy to be there with my almost seven-year-old. It’s a lot more fun to be at the beach with a kid who isn’t shoveling fistfuls of sand into her mouth.

The Bee and the Peony are at that perfect age where they can play by themselves, but they’re not yet ashamed to be seen in public with their mothers. The Bee even asked me to come in the ocean with her (and I managed not to grievously injure myself this year) to teach her how to use a bodyboard. We had a great time.

I started the day in a cranky mood, after spending all of last night being screamed at by both of my children while landisdad worked late. In fact, I didn’t really feel like taking the Bee to the beach, and only the fact that I had already promised Peony’s mom that we would go motivated me to get moving this morning.

But once we got on the road, and I had some coffee, I started to feel better, and by the time we were near the beach, the Bee and I were singing along to a cd and so engaged in conversation that I missed a turn and added an extra 20 minutes to our trip.

Miraculously, I didn’t even get one work-related call on my cell phone the whole day.

July 26, 2006. growing up.

6 Comments

  1. chip replied:

    sounds like a lot of fun. I love those daddy-kiddy hooky days. And yeah, when I am with parents with very little ones, I get exhausted just watching them, and am very thankful my kids can take care of themselves (well, pretty much most of the time…), especially at the beach.

  2. christie replied:

    oooh sounds like fun!

  3. chichimama replied:

    Sounds like a great day! So glad for you and the Bee…I look forward to those trips! SOme day, some day.

  4. Ms Sisyphus replied:

    Those kinds of days are magic.

  5. CroutonBoy replied:

    Nice! I wish all days were that smoothe and pleasant.

  6. Kate the Shrew replied:

    Yay! Sounds like fun, good for you playing hooky!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

