Sweet Potato Boy

Happy Birthday, little man! I can’t believe you’re three already!

img_0743.JPG

He’s pictured here playing with some of his new toys. But my favorite gift that was given to the Potato today?

We went out to dinner at a local kid-friendly restaurant. On the way out, the hostess offered both of the kids a balloon for the road. We were walking home, me with the Potato on my shoulders (giving him, as he would say, “a piggybank”) when a tree caught his balloon and ripped it out of his hand. Bye balloon.

Before he even had time to cry, his big sister offered him hers. Then I was the one who was nearly crying.

August 11, 2006. growing up.

14 Comments

  1. Leggy replied:

    Happy birthday Potato. He’s looking more & more like Landisdad!

  2. Kate the Shrew replied:

    Awww, what a cutie pie. What a nice big sister, too! Happy birthday, Sweet Potato.

  3. Jim replied:

    Very nice. I love it when my children show their loving, altruistic side to one another. It more than outweighs the petty fights, tattling, and “her’s is bigger than mine!”

  4. Doppelganger replied:

    Awww… now I’m almost crying.

    What an adorable boy the Potato is. I love those quizzical eyebrows!

  5. Mary Tsao replied:

    Happy Birthday! My oldest just turned three. I’m hoping it’s one of those “magical years.” I need one.

  6. jackie replied:

    Happy Birthday Potato! It’s hard to remember those moments when they are fighting and bickering, right? But they do happen, and this is proof!

  7. kdubs replied:

    Happy Bday Potato!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Carrie replied:

    So sweet! Happy birthday, Potato!

  9. chip replied:

    happy b’day potato!! And man, you have one cute kid there!

  10. fidget replied:

    He is so handsome and has such a grown up face for only 3! Happy birthday!!!

  11. MetroDad replied:

    Happy Birthday, Sweet Potato! Wow, LM, he’s really a little boy now, eh? And need I say how much I loved the Bee’s kindness and thoughtfulness? Doesn’t surprise me in the least. As always, kudos to you.

  12. alala replied:

    Aww, what a cute little guy. And what a great story! The moments of sibling solidarity at casa alala are few and far between, but they make up for every little bit of the fighting and sniping that also happens.

  13. HeatherJ replied:

    Nothing better than a big sister.

    Happy Birthday to Sweet Potato Boy.

  14. Ashley replied:

    Happy belated birthday!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

