first day blues

Today was the Bee’s first day of second grade. She was extremely happy to see her friends, and excited at the challenge of a new year, although she’s spent the last couple of days telling us how she was worried, because she didn’t know multiplication yet, and thought she was supposed to know it in second grade. We had a few conversations about how the point of school is to learn things you don’t already know, but she seemed conflicted about it, until landisdad told her that it’s rude if you already know everything the teacher has to teach you. She seemed to accept that, although I’m not sure I get the logic myself.

I was a little weepy on the way into school. It’s been odd this year, because for the first time, I wasn’t the primary person getting the Bee ready to go to school. Since he’s been laid off, it was landisdad who took her back-to-school shopping, and listened to her change her mind 37 times about what to wear on the first day. She packed her own bag for school, and I didn’t even look into it to make sure all her supplies were in there.

I’m not upset that landisdad got to do those things–I think it’s great that he did, and that she’s growing up enough to really be doing her own thing, too. It’s just that with the passing of each year, I’m a little farther away from having babies. I love that my kids are growing up, I love that my husband is the kind of dad that does things that some guys would consider to be “mom’s job.” I just wish I could keep my kids small a little while longer.

September 6, 2006. growing up, thoughtful parenting.

16 Comments

  1. chip replied:

    tell me about it…

  2. Anjali replied:

    What a cutie! I’m getting weepy seeing all the pics on the internet of kids going back to school. I’m sure I’ll be a wreak next year!

  3. Suzanne replied:

    Parenting — it’s all just so bittersweet. Feh.

    She looks very confident and cute on her way to school. I hope she has a great year!

  4. Lady M replied:

    Three cheers for a good dad and a good mom! Bee looks happy and ready to tackle a new year.

  5. Kimberly replied:

    It’s a strange dance, eh? Sometimes we just want them to grow up and get to the next stage. But when they do, we want to cry foul: “Wait! I wasn’t ready yet!”

    I’m glad the Bee had a good day. I hope she has a great year.

  6. Jay replied:

    I love that your husband does that , especially sweet about the ‘rude if you already know stuff’ bit.

  7. MetroDad replied:

    Any thoughts on going for #3, LM?

  8. landismom replied:

    Hold on, now, let’s not get all crazy!

  9. Kate replied:

    but what a cutie in the photo! She looks like an ad for happy children off to school 🙂

  10. Jennifer (ponderosa) replied:

    Oh, I know what you mean… I have been thinking about how their capacity to be hurt gets greater as they get older — in the past I thought about physical hurt but I am starting to understand that the emotional part is worse.

    She looks so confident!

  11. chichimama replied:

    Hope it all went well. tell her she picked a great outfit…

  12. Helen replied:

    I didn’t realise until I had a baby how precious each moment would be. People said to me: “When the first 6 weeks are over, life will be much better,” but I miss those first 6 weeks!

    Your daughter looks so cute, I particularly like the Hello Kitty bag! She looks as if she is well-prepared for her first day at school.

  13. Ashley replied:

    It would be nice at times to go back, but then again it’s nice to have my “me” time back too. Congrats to you for letting dad do it and to her for being so ready to go!

  14. Comfort Addict replied:

    She looks happy and very colorful! Compared to what kids have today, I really do think that I grew up in black and white.

    I encourage you to enjoy every new day of the Bee and the Potato.

  15. Kate the Shrew replied:

    I hope she has a great year! She looks ready for anything.

  16. Mary Tsao replied:

    It’s hard for me to believe that my little preschooler will one day be a mature and proud 2nd grader like your daughter. But I’m also worried that I will blink and all of a sudden that day will be here. Time does go by fast, doesn’t it?

    P.S. Love her outfit and accessories! Very stylish.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

