home again

I’m sooooo glad to be home. It’s hard to be away for almost five days. When I got home yesterday, the Bee was taking a nap, and the Potato was having quiet time. I immediately disrupted the quiet time, but left the Bee asleep, though that was very hard. I just wanted to hug both of my kids for like an hour.

We had a kind of quiet day today, just a trip to the park, and some errands. And a lot of tickling.

I thought I’d give a report-back on my post of last weekend. Seems like it partially worked, and partially didn’t work, during the week that I was away. Today, the fighting had definitely decreased, but I’m not sure if it’s just because the kids are relieved that I was finally home or what. We did end up reading two extra stories (one per kid) and having extra tv. Last night though, the Potato had to go to bed early due to his disruptive behavior.

While I was gone, I called home to talk to them every night except the first one. Landisdad reported that the Potato stood at our back door for two straight nights, whimpering, “Mommeeeee.” That’s hard to hear. I really don’t like being away for that long, but this is the one event of the year that I just can’t miss. The thing that makes it hardest is that there are some people (who have to be there for less time) that ended up bringing their kids. But single parenting while working for five days (and long days, at that) just wasn’t going to work for me this year.

September 17, 2006. work.

9 Comments

  1. Jennifer replied:

    Welcome home!

    My husband was away for four days recently & my son took it hard. He kept saving things — like pieces of his dinner — for daddy to have when he got home. And then when my husband did return, they spent a TON of time together. I know the separation was hard for them both but they sure have been appreciating each other more.

    Not to say that your kids don’t appreciate you! You know what I mean.

  2. Ashley replied:

    Welcome home! Let me know how the chore chart works. It might work for me to implement some of that around here.

  3. Suzanne replied:

    Glad you’re back! I hope that the sweetness of reuniting continues for at least a few more days.

  4. jo(e) replied:

    Welcome home.

  5. Mere replied:

    Welcome home!

    I’ll be going away on Wednesday – for 5 days. I was looking forward to going (seeing my sisters), but now I’m dreading it. I don’t want to be away for so long. I’m such a wuss when it comes to being away from my family.

  6. chichimama replied:

    Welcome home!

  7. Jim replied:

    For better or worse, sharing custody with X has accustomed my kids to being away from either parent. Still, it’s been a drill for almost 3 and 1/2 years but I am no less touched when I hear one of mine has cried for daddy.

    When I was sick last week, my parents kept the kids an extra day while I wallowed in my misery. Lilly asked, “Where’s Daddy? Why isn’t he picking us up?”

    My mom explained to her that I was really sick and couldn’t get them that night. Shocked and afraid, Lilly asked, “He isn’t going to die, is he?” My mom assured her that I would be OK, I just needed to sleep and get well.

    The next day, when I picked the kids up from school, Lilly ran up to me and hugged me like she’d never let me go.

    The moments we live for.

  8. Lady M replied:

    I’m on day 2 of a 5 day trip. Sigh. Welcome back!

  9. Jay replied:

    But isn’t it good to know that you were missed?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

