go shorty, it’s your birthday

Note to self: when planning to have a sleepover for four seven-year-old girls, why not instead throw a party at the Ritz?

The Ritz party would probably cost a lot more, but it wouldn’t end with me sleeping on my own basement floor.

Or perhaps next year, instead of birthday ice cream cake, we could serve some kind of sugarless, tofutti creation.

Preferably mixed with  sedatives.

The Bee is a party animal. The other girls were begging to go to sleep, and she was strapping on her dancing shoes and tipping the DJ to spin In Da Club.

At 2 a.m., I finally dragged my sleepy carcass and a bunch of extra blankets into the basement, lay down next to the Bee, and told her that if she didn’t go to sleep, I was going to make her go to bed in her own room. All of the other girls were asleep before my head hit the pillow.

In all seriousness, though, we had a great time. But I’ll be happy not to repeat it again until next year.

October 1, 2006. growing up, thoughtful parenting.

7 Comments

  1. chichimama replied:

    You are a brave, brave woman. My mother threw me exactally one sleepover. The fact that you are planning another is amazing :-). C is already talking about them, I told him he had to be nine…

  2. Leggy replied:

    Too funny. When I was about 13, my mom’s friend hired me to watch her 6 year old and all her friends at the first overnight birthday party. Maybe that’s the strategy for next year?

  3. Anjali replied:

    I could have easily outlasted the Bee — I’m a night person with occassional insomnia. Next year I’d be happy to chaperone.

  4. Daydreams and Musings replied:

    Yikes – we’re probably going to have a sleep-over for A Girl’s 9th birthday. Since we live in an apartment and don’t have too much space, I want to draw the line at two friends. A Girl wants at least three. So we’ll see who wins!

  5. Kate the Shrew replied:

    I’m so glad Queen B isn’t old enough for sleepovers, yet. You’re a brave, brave woman!

  6. Jennifer replied:

    Happy birthday, Bee! and you are a natural wonder, Landismom!

  7. CroutonBoy replied:

    Happy Belated Birthday, Bee! Way to party like it’s 1999!

    I’ll have to remember to lace ice cream with sedatives in the future…excellent idea

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

