“you are the meanest person”

The Potato is in a very challenging phase right now. While the Bee has begun moving into a more mature phase, the Potato has jumped headfirst into a bout of ‘no,’ ‘why?’ and outright defiance.

While I admit, it’s somewhat difficult to be called ‘dummyhead’ fifteen times in a row, there is something easier in this Potato-phase then when we were going through it the first time with the Bee. I can see it now as a normal stage of development, and I can see that, though it’s painful to live through, it won’t last forever.

Besides, if I weren’t the world’s meanest mommy, where would I be?

There are times when the Potato calls me “the meanest person” in a very sincere voice, and I find it hard not to laugh. But those times have gotten farther between, and my outright annoyance with him is winning out more often. It’s not every day that I feel so hopeless about it, but I’m really not looking forward to this long, rainy weekend. I can tell we’ll be telling the kids to go run around in the basement a lot.

All right, enough self-pity for today. Hope you all enjoy a lovely Thanksgiving Day, surrounded by family and friends. And to those who arrived here searching for a new sweet potato recipe, sorry, we’re fresh out.

November 23, 2006. thoughtful parenting.

9 Comments

  1. MetroDad replied:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and the family, LM! Wishing you all the best.

  2. Suzanne replied:

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Ms Sisyphus replied:

    You know how I feel about Thanksgiving. My sympathies are with you.

    And tell the Potato that you can’t possibly be the World’s Meanest Person because that title belongs to me 🙂

  4. Emma replied:

    Cool blog! I’m linking you.

  5. elise replied:

    I can remember that phase with my kids and deciding at the time that I just couldn’t take having them say things like “I hate you” and really putting my foot down (translate to me probably overreacting). I can remember feeling like I should be able to laugh it off but I NEVER could. I told them how it really hurt my feelings because it REALLY did!! My husband has always been able to take that kind of stuff and laugh it off. I really only heard one or two “I hate you”s from each of them because I was so unhappy with it. See, just be childish like me and you can freak out and maybe it will stop…hee hee! Now, to psychoanalyze myself its probably because I DID hate my parents growing up and therefore am a little sensitive about it!

  6. chip replied:

    that’s funny, I sometimes find it hard to keep a straight face when one of my kids is going off on a tantrum, and it drives them crazy, making them even madder.

    At this age our kids’ tantrums are a bit more sophisticated, rather than “you are mean” it’s much more complicated way of saying the same thing…

  7. bj replied:

    my 3yo’s current insult is to say “you’re a baby” and then,if he’s really mad, he says “you’re a little tiny baby.” And, finally, “you’re a little tiny baby who says ga-ga goo-goo.” It’s hilarious, and difficult to keep a straight face (even though he’s terribly upset).

    bj

  8. Daydreams and Musings replied:

    Ever since the kids were little, I’ve said to them “What’s mommy and daddy’s most important job?” They answer “To take care of me, to keep me safe and healthy and to teach me things.” Surprisingly, it works almost every time to stop the whining (and we almost never get any “you’re the meanest” or “you hate me” complaints). They understand that they can’t always have things their way and that when we tell them “no”, it’s because we’re trying to do what’s best for them.

  9. fin replied:

    I remember saying the same thing to my mom…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

