winter beach trip



serious Potato

We took the kids to the beach today. It’s unseasonably warm, although we’ve been getting a cold front starting last night. Still, when it’s in the low 50s in the first week of December, you have to take advantage of it.

My MIL gave me an early Christmas present this year–a brand new digital SLR that she bought for herself, but decided was too complicated to use. It’s a phenomenal camera that I never would have bought for myself, but am now completely in love with.

I took some pictures of the kids, including these, and am still figuring out how to use the thing properly. Two major assets of this camera over my old analog SLR (beautiful Nikon, I’m sorry I’m seeing someone else now) is the ability to delete bad pictures, and to immediately see the results of my fiddling around with the settings. The learning curve, she is steep, but not as steep as when I had to wait a week to see the results of my fiddling.

I haven’t posted much this week, because I’m recovering from very minor surgery to my right eye. The world was extremely blurry for the past few days, and it was nice to be out in the ocean breeze and seeing clearly.

img_0077.JPG

December 2, 2006. the cutest kids ever!.

7 Comments

  1. Suzanne replied:

    Ouch! I hope that your recuperation proceeds smoothly.

  2. thordora replied:

    OW OW OW OW

    Vivian almost knocked herself in the eye, and all I could think about was how queasy eye stuff makes me. I hope it’s alright!

  3. Comfort Addict replied:

    I admire people who do photography well. Mrs. CA has a neat camera but it is not quite CA-proof. When someone invents a camera that compensates for deficient compositional sense, let me know.

    I’m sorry to hear about your eye. I almost lost my left eye as a child after a nutty neighbor took a full backswing with a putter when I was standing behind him. I hope that you get better soon (although your conscience and mental acuity will always let you see clearly).

  4. chichimama replied:

    Hope your eye recovers quickly!

    I love the beach in the winter. I might have to take the kids down once it snows…

    Great pics!

  5. jo(e) replied:

    The beach in winter! That sounds like a great day.

    I hope your eye recovers quickly.

  6. HeatheJ replied:

    The beach looks great. Sorry about your eye surgery, hope you have a speedy recovery.

  7. Kate the Shrew replied:

    Ouch, hope it’s all healed up soon. Sounds like a nice beach trip!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

