Sweet Potato, interior decorator

Does anyone else out there have a bathroom wall that is decorated with iridescent truck and airplane stickers? How about Blue’s Clues on the bedroom door? Cartoonish school buses on the hardwood floors?!?!

I’m losing all my fingernails, trying to pry them off. Not that I’m really into having long fingernails, but it’s a little annoying.

There are little things my kids do every day to claim our house as theirs, some of them more permanent, some less. I think with an unlimited roll of painter’s tape, the Potato could keep himself occupied for about a day and a half. It’s not just our walls that he’s interested in decorating–it’s also his toys, sometimes books, the furniture. It’s kind of fascinating to watch, really. I think it’s likely that I’ll be finding stickers and tape in odd places around our house when the boy is ready to leave for college.

December 18, 2006. random other things.

6 Comments

  1. Katina Mooneyham replied:

    I often have stickers that I have to add in to the decor. It’s hard to get those little buggers off the walls sometimes. There is something I’d like to try, chalkboard paint. I heard that it works, that kids like it because they can then write on the walls. Maybe that’s something you could look into?

  2. Deidre Aufiero replied:

    So far, nothing too bad. My daughter makes “decorations” (crayon drawings) and hangs them up around the house with Scotch tape. So far, I’ve been able to reclaim the rest of the house, but she never wants to take anything down in her room.

  3. Kimberly replied:

    Yep. Diva Girl used to be all about the stickering on the furniture. But she never coloured on the walls. The Shaolin Toddler always uses her sticker book, but prefers a larger canvas than the colouring book. Like the hallway walls.

  4. Suzanne replied:

    We’ve been safe from stickers, but not from wallpaper peeling! Kind of the opposite problem, come to think of it.

  5. Jennifer (ponderosa) replied:

    My son does the same thing. I tell myself it’s art : )

  6. Comfort Addict replied:

    Perhaps, he will become a great original thinker who will put his own stamp on everything he does. Let’s hope so.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

