letting go

For some reason, the Bee has developed an affection for country and western music. I mean no offense to those fans of country music who read this blog, but I just don’t get it. In addition to my not getting it, I actively dislike country music, in no small part due to the fact that my evil stepfather used to take my mom country-line dancing when they were first dating. Remember the 80s?

My stepfather, I should add, thinks it’s hilarious that the Bee likes country music. That’s just the kind of ass prince he is.

Every morning, the Bee’s clock radio goes off to the dulcet sounds of some country crooner, and I cringe. To be totally honest, I just want to set her radio to a different station, but so far I’ve managed to resist the temptation. And really, it’s not like I want her listening to Top 40–she’s only 7. I’d just understand it better if she did.

I knew this day was coming–the day that one of my kids would be interested in something that I don’t like. I didn’t really think it would happen this early, but it’s here. I don’t want the Bee or the Potato to think that they can only enjoy things their parents like, or that they have to get our approval for every taste they develop. I want to be mature about it, to be a reasonable parent who can let her kid branch out and do things that are different, to have kids who are individual and smart and discerning.

But my god, what if she asks for Toby Keith tickets?

January 9, 2007. growing up.

13 Comments

  1. chichimama replied:

    I cringe for you, I really do. Stay strong, hopefully she will come around :-).

  2. jo(e) replied:

    My father plays jazz and swing, so I grew up with this bias against country music that is deeply ingrained. I am not sure if I could handle it if any of my kids started listening to it …

  3. Jennifer replied:

    Eek! And you thought the Barney songs were bad : )

  4. alala replied:

    Well, country music is mostly, um… easy. Not very musically challenging, I would call it, and often quite emotional, so I can see why it would appeal to a kid. My elder son is now into Lordi, a Finnish um, monster-rock band which, again, is melodically simple and catchy. I think it’s a harmless phase kids go through. See if you can get her to close the door.

  5. MetroDad replied:

    Uh oh, LM. Next thing you know, she’ll be a Republican!

  6. Ashley replied:

    Then she can go out on a “father-daughter” date. 🙂

  7. Carrie replied:

    Maybe get her to listen to the Dixie Chicks. At least they are liberal! I’m a huge country fan even though a lot of the country “culture” makes me ill. I used to love Toby Keith until he opened his mouth and got political. Now I can’t stand to look at him. I like country because you can understand the words and sing along. I can’t understand the words to most top 40 songs.

  8. Leggy replied:

    This is pretty funny. Coal Miner’s Daughter came out when I was about 8 or 9 and I was a huge Loretta Lynn fan for most of my pre-teen years, which made me a big nerd. Not sure my mom cared for it much, but she tolerated it. I agree re: Dixie Chicks. Also, what about some of the more tolerable stuff ala old Patsy Cline?

  9. Leggy replied:

    Or what about Emmylou Harris and/or more Bluegrass stuff?

  10. brettdl replied:

    I can live with country even though it’s not for me, but I don’t think I could tolerate a hip-hop phase.

  11. Library Lady replied:

    Yeah, get her the Dixie Chicks and some of the others who can really sing. There still are some left when you get past the pretty boys and the plastic girls.

    I understand why you wouldn’t like it in terms of the general politics of the genre, but in terms of the music, I’d far rather have a kid listening to this sort of stuff rather than the teen pop pap being brought out by the Disney Channel and Nickelodeon!

  12. Comfort Addict replied:

    I agree with Library Lady above. Country music is a wide genre. Seek out the conscious artists – or just let the Bee find her own way.

  13. Library Lady replied:

    Update–maybe it WOULD be okay if she likes Toby Keith. Here at “The Plank”: http://www.tnr.com/blog/theplank?pid=75002

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

