Molly Ivins, presente!

I was shocked to hear tonight of the death of Molly Ivins. Ivins was one of those writers who always, always made me laugh. Even when she was spitting mad, she was fucking hilarious. She was fiercely political, in a way that few funny women get to be, and I’ll never forget her

Apparently, I’m not alone in being a fan, as lots of my favorite bloggers are writing about her.

Check these out:

State of Grace

Mamas Ink

Half-Changed World

Bitch, PhD

And these:

Working Life

Crunchy Granola

Confessions of a Community College Dean

I wish I had some brilliant thing to say about Ivins, but I don’t. I first read Molly writing about Ann Richards (and did ever a politician find the columnist to cover her in that combo! what luck for them both). So instead of trying to come up with something brilliant or witty to say about Ivins, I’ll just link to what she wrote about Richards, after her passing last year. I hope there’s no need for AA wherever they are now.

January 31, 2007. politically motivated.

5 Comments

  1. Sandra replied:

    I was sorry to read about her death too. She was brilliant and so, so, so funny.

  2. alala replied:

    Whoa! This is the first I’ve heard of it. Wow, what a terrible loss.

  3. chip replied:

    Molly was great! And her take on Bush was excellent, since she’d known him from the very beginning of his career in Texas. She will be greatly missed.

  4. Suzanne replied:

    I am surprised at how sad I feel about this. I love Molly Ivins’ writing, and hearing her read her own work is even better! What a loss.

  5. Jay replied:

    I think a writer would be proud to have her work speak for her, and of her.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

