Thor, Zeus, Jupiter, Seth–just tell me what I need to sacrifice!

The Potato is a very inquisitive boy. A kid who really wants to find out how the world works. And I’m happy about that, really I am.

But must he destroy every piece of consumer electronics in our home? Here’s a short list of the things that the Potato has wreaked his mighty vengeance on, in his brief 3.5 years in our home.

  • my alarm clock (twice)
  • a wireless mouse (ack! good thing we had an old wired one still hanging around)
  • at least one CD player (the Bee might have had something to do with the second)
  • the DVD/VCR player (by putting a DVD into the VCR side)
  • more video tapes and DVDs than you can shake a stick at
  • the humidifier in his room
  • every remote in our house
  • including the one for an overhead light fixture I can’t reach (^%#!&*$@)

It’s gotten to the point that I automatically assume that it’s his fault, if something electronic stops working. Sometimes, I think he might be surrounded by an invisible force field that causes things that plug in to self-destruct. Landisdad and I are contemplating buying a new TV, but I’m afraid to bring anything new and shiny into the house, without figuring out a way to keep the Potato from destroying it through his natural curiousity (and maybe that force field).

What do you think? should I just make sacrifices to every lightning god I can find? and is there something that they’ll accept as a sacrifice that isn’t shiny and electronic?

Or is there some other way of keeping our precocious pre-schooler from destroying the appliances?

Is there some kind of Future Inventor kit out there that’s appropriate for a three-year-old? Mini-Mad Scientists R Us? Give me direction!

February 5, 2007. family life.

8 Comments

  1. Elizabeth replied:

    The fire alarm went off in the hotel we were staying at this weekend. It turned out to be a small kitchen fire, but my immediate reaction when I heard the alarm go off was “N – what did you do now?”

  2. chichimama replied:

    Ha! If you figure it out, let me know. Because we are in need of whatever it is that will keep our electronics intact….so sorry to hear you are similarly afflicted.

  3. MetroDad replied:

    Peanut & the Potato must be partners-in-crime. We’re dealing with all the same problems. I’ve had all my friends toss me their old remotes and broken appliances so the Peanut can go nuts with them. Give it a shot, LM!

  4. fidget replied:

    i feel your pain. If anything is destroyed in my house 99.9% of the time Tessa did it

    Ive never had such a destructive child in my care before.. its not malicious either.. it’s mad scientist what is this made of destruction

  5. doth replied:

    My Uncle apparently used to do the same thing…but only to his twin sister’s stuff (my mom). He took apart her new record player (didn’t put it back together because by then he knew how it worked). Not that it’s electronic, but he also cut patches out of her new skirts one year to use for patches on his hobo hallowe’en costume. I say curb it by getting some lego or kinnex or something like that the little guy can build and rip apart.

  6. Jennifer replied:

    I read this a few days ago and came back to hear what advice the others had — but it sounds mostly like you’ve got sympathy!

    My kid doesn’t take things apart but he’s always building. Sometimes what he builds is really cool and sometimes it’s irritating. Tonight he made a “spider web” with yarn which wrapped around all the chairs and couches and tables and the refrigerator door handle. (You’re wondering why I didn’t just stop him from doing this. Me too.)

  7. mad muthas replied:

    when my son was learning to talk we used to ask him and his sister opposites, like ‘what’s the opposite of cold?’ and so on. one day, we asked him, ‘what’s the opposite of on?’ and he said, rather sadly, ‘broken’. same stuff

  8. year four? really? « Bumblebee Sweet Potato replied:

    […] let’s get started with a little reminiscing about the Potato’s destructive tendencies. I have to say, he’s gotten a lot better about this in the past year (knock […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

