cuddly things

I was tagged by Jeff at Out With the Kids with this meme about three favorite childhood toys. As I’ve previously blogged, my favorite childhood stuffed animal was my red horse, Horsey.

  img_0940.JPG

Like Jeff, I also had a favorite blankee–in my case, a quilt with my name on it that was made by my maternal grandmother. I had that quilt on my bed until it literally fell apart when I was in college. It was a crazy quilt–one side was the all-crazy pattern, and the other side had my name in the middle of a white background, with a crazy quilt border. There was a book that came along with it, but I can’t remember the name–it was about a girl whose quilt helped save her parents’ house from a fire.

I also had a nameless white, fluffy stuffed cat that I carried around everywhere. The night my father went totally insane, and threw our phone threw the front door window before leaving the house, I offered to let my mother sleep with it. I’m not sure what happened to that cat. The last time I saw it, it was missing chunks of fur, and I suspect my mother had patience only for one overly-loved stuffed animal.

April 8, 2007. memes.

5 Comments

  1. soberbriquette replied:

    I started to write a comment, but decided I’m going to steal this meme for myself.

    BTW, thanks for the suggestion to try WP. I’m still getting used to it, but so far, very pleased.

  2. Jeff replied:

    Hey, thanks for doing this! It was the first meme I threw out there and the thought came into my head that no one may respond – which would be kinda pathetic for me. haha!

  3. Jennifer replied:

    The cat offer must have broken your mother’s heart.

    My daughter has a beloved blanket, too, which was made by my youngest sister. It was one of her first efforts at making a blanket, so she has had to patch it multiple times!

  4. I tagged myself, then had a cuddle. « Sober Briquette replied:

    […] of Bumblebee Sweet Potato was playing tag with Jeff, who I don’t know yet, but he seems like a fun dad to add the […]

  5. nutmeg replied:

    I just went to vote for you at CHBM member of the week and they are still linking to your old url. Just thought you might want to change it! I enjoy your blog – My Mrs. Beazley Doll was my bitch!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

