another letter to my feathered friends

Last year, I wrote about how the Potato was getting woken up every morning by the birds in our yard. I’m happy to say that I never resorted to violence to get through that experience. The birds are waking him up again this spring, but this year is different. This year, I’m hacking my son.

Not that kind of hacking.

Every night before bed, I put a cup of dry cereal into a little bowl, and put it on the bookcase next to my bed. Now, when the Potato wakes up at dark o’clock, he just comes in, gets his snack, and goes back into his room, where he happily looks at books and crunches his Toasted Oatmeal Squares. It gives me at least a half an hour of extra sleep every day.

Dear birds:
You and I may all make it out of this parenting thing alive after all.
Your friend, landismom

May 5, 2007. family life, parenthacks.

6 Comments

  1. Andy replied:

    Brilliant!

  2. CamiKaos replied:

    ah yes, I call the granola bar on my bed side table the snack snooze button! I’m glad it’s looking like you’ll all make it through. 🙂

  3. Ashley replied:

    What a great idea!

  4. fidget replied:

    great idea!

  5. thordora replied:

    oh I’m totally doing that…

  6. Jay replied:

    That’s hillarious. I’m glad you found peace with the birds and a little extra shut eye.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

