on the verge, or, the geography of yearning

I’m on the road this week, and living out of hotels. It’s a drag to be spending so much time in windowless conference rooms, but there’s something really freeing about having time all to myself in the evening. I had to work Monday night, but last night and tonight, I’m pretty much on my own.

I’ve almost forgotten how to be, when I don’t need to live on someone else’s timeline. I can eat dinner when I want, and can eat junk without having to be a responsible role model. I can watch tv in the morning. I can turn off my phone, and sit enjoying the quiet.

I’m going home tomorrow night, and I can’t wait to see the kids and landisdad again. But tonight, I’m going to enjoy my peace.

May 9, 2007. work.

6 Comments

  1. chip replied:

    Ah yes, how well I remember those sweet moments of having nothing to do in the evenings during business travel, being able to do what I wanted when I wanted.

    But yeah, mixed with missing my little ones.

    Enjoy!!

  2. chichimama replied:

    M says the same thing when he is traveling. Enjoy the evening, and then the homecoming!

  3. Anjali replied:

    Have a drink on me.

  4. elise replied:

    “I’ve almost forgotten how to be”, I know exactly what you mean by this! I realize whenever I am alone its still not the same as in the olden days! I remember how it was when I thought I had a lot of responsibilities but in reality had very few. I enjoy my free time but I’m just not that carefree college kid anymore. And I’m okay with that, the benefits of my current life are great!

  5. Library Lady replied:

    You are living out the fantasy of many a mom I know–just to have time in a hotel room all ALONE and quiet without the responsibilities!
    (I know in reality it’s not all that, but the rest of us are dreaming anyway.)
    Enjoy. And enjoy your homecoming!

  6. Comfort Addict replied:

    Yes, it is nice to be on your own time. Mrs. CA went to a conference earlier in the week and I got to experience that freedom. The flip side, though, is that we all missed her (Casey, our Dalmatian mix, the mopey most).

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

