web 2.0–photo sharing edition

I got an invite a while back to review a new photo-sharing service, Greetingflix.com. Disclaimer–in exchange for a review, they upgraded me to a Pro account for free, a total value of $19.95 per year. I confess that, while I do share photos online fairly frequently, it never occurred to me to make little slide shows of my pictures, and if you’re into that kind of thing, it seems like a nice little service.

I did try it out in the free version before the Pro upgrade went through, and it seemed a little buggy. In fact, I couldn’t upload my pictures at all, and ended up giving up and not coming back to it for a week or so. Once I was on the Pro account, the uploads were no problem, and the account size is a full 1 GB of storage, which is plenty for me.

I’m not really sure how much I will use this, though. While my love of stationery is fairly well documented on this site, I tend to buy blank cards and stationery, rather than going the Hallmark route. I’m picky about the kinds of sentiments that I express, and I found this site limiting, because I couldn’t modify the text of the flix. You do have the ability to add a statement at the end, which I guess I would do if I were sending one as a greeting card, but I am not crazy about the idea of using a template that has someone else’s words in it.

I’d post the greeting that I made, but I can’t figure out how to do it. They have code to post onto a myspace page or blog, but it doesn’t seem to be working in wordpress. If you’re interested in seeing it, email me or leave a comment, and I’ll send it to you.

Anyway, if you’re looking for a fairly simple way to combine your own photos with music, text and some nice animation, give greetingflix a whirl.

May 24, 2007. free stuff can be good.

2 Comments

  1. Liz replied:

    It looks a little frumpy and slow to me. I’ll stick with flickr. But thanks for letting us know about it. 😉

  2. Procrastamom replied:

    I love flickr too. If THEY had offered you a pro account, I would say take it! I’ve tried a few other photo sharing sites and always come back to flickr.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

