a mother’s lament

Some days, I wake up and it seems like my kids have grown two inches over night. I was looking at the Bee’s feet the other day, and thinking, “it seems like yesterday that she was in booties.” But she doesn’t have those baby feet any more. Her feet have the shape of adult feet now–the high arch, the slender, lack of baby chub. And as for the Potato, he went to daycare today wearing a hand-me-down shirt that the Bee wore in kindergarten.

It’s not that I want them to stay little forever (especially if it means we have to keep paying for daycare).

But do they have to get so big so fast?

May 30, 2007. growing up.

7 Comments

  1. CamiKaos replied:

    I don’t know if they HAVE to, but they sure seem to…

  2. elise replied:

    I know what you mean. Our family is pretty short (husband only 5′ 3 1/2″) but now that Thomas is 5 feet tall I keep looking at him thinking he’s catching up to us! It’s weird! In a little over a year he will be able to get a driver’s learning permit so I guess he does have to be big enough to see over the dash board!! Ha Ha!

  3. Chichmama replied:

    C looks like a boy now, not a little boy. I seriously think I have about two years until he is as tall as I am. It is scary!

  4. Jay replied:

    Well, I think the problem is that you keep feeding them so darn much. Also, ifyou make them sleep in drawers (like, say, a dresser drawer), I hear it stunts their growth.

  5. alala replied:

    I think it’s an evolution thing: they grow up so fast so that we’ll keep having more, because of the “but I wasn’t done being a baby-mom yet!” thing.

  6. Ginger replied:

    Have you tried putting a brick on their head? I haven’t tried it but I’ve heard about it. My baby graduated from kindergarten this week. Wasn’t she just born?

  7. Comfort Addict replied:

    That must be hard, LM. However, I can only imagine the adventures that you, LD, Potato and Bee have ahead. Every day is a new world. Enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

