the leaky Potato

Lately, the Potato has developed a new sound to replace whining. It’s very similar to the noise a balloon makes when it’s leaking air. It’s also optimally designed to drive his parents totally insane.

He can sustain it for a disturbingly long time, which gives me hopes that he may have the lung capacity to be an Olympic swimmer. Barring that, a successful glassblower.

I know that reacting to this exciting new noise is about the worst possible thing for me to do, but I’m worried that his high-frequency emission is about to force blood to seep out of my eyeballs. Any suggestions?

June 14, 2007. family life.

5 Comments

  1. CamiKaos replied:

    I wish I could tell you what would work but my daughter throughout her 5 years of life has managed to find about 6,000 noises that make me want to lock myself in an isolation chamber…

    I have handled it in many ways, none of which are good. Asking her nicely to stop (okay that is good but it didn’t work), telling her it really bothers me, snapping at her, repeating the noise back at her, walking out of the room, run screaming when she follows me, hiding beneath a mountain of pillows and headphones.

    Good Luck!!!

  2. chip replied:

    I was almost afraid to click on this post with that title. I am relieved…

  3. elise replied:

    When Sarah cried from the time she was 4 years old until she was 5 years old, I finally had to tell her that she could cry all she wanted but it had to be in her room because I couldn’t take it anymore. Seriously, she cried all the time. At the time, a friend made a suggestion that seemed like it wouldn’t work but it did help. She told me to make an effort to spend more time one on one with her just doing fun things that she wanted to do. Not just being with her alone but giving her attention and playing games and such. At that point I just wanted to get away from her but since she said it had helped with her daughter I tried it. (Do you know how boring Monopoly Junior is, especially when it was too complicated to incorporate all the rules?) It sounds sort of corny but it did help. I was staying at home and the older kids were in school so it was relatively easy for me but I know it would be tough for you. Good luck!

  4. thordora replied:

    When the annoyings start, kids are banished to the room. Cannot STAND that noise…

  5. fidget replied:

    banned to the bedroom every single time. It’s a pain to enforce but works

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

