cross that one off the list

I think that the Bee has finally come to terms with riding a two-wheeler. She still needs a little help getting started, but other than that, she’s fine. We practiced a lot today, but from the very beginning, it was clear that she was doing better than she ever had before. I raised her seat, which helps–I think she was having trouble keeping her balance before, because she wasn’t able to stretch out her legs enough.

We went to the park this morning for about an hour, and as we were on the way home, she kept trying to figure out how to get started without me holding  her up. I asked her if it was because you can’t have your mom starting you every time, and she kind of shrugged and grinned at me. I told her, “I know that you’re gonna learn to do this, then, because you are a determined girl, and you learn what you want to learn.”

Watching her cycle away from me was a bittersweet experience. She kept getting smaller, of course, the further she got away. But she is oh, so big now.

July 1, 2007. growing up.

5 Comments

  1. CamiKaos replied:

    wow!

  2. chichimama replied:

    Awww. I am highly impressed! I don’t think C is ever going to take his training wheels off. Go Bee!

  3. Susan replied:

    Woo Hoo!

    Did you do anything in particular to teach the Bee to ride, or just wait until she wanted to try it? (or both?) Curious Girl wanted to try her two wheeler w/o training wheels last week, so we did, but I wasn’t sure what I was supposed to be doing to help her learn to balance.

  4. landismom replied:

    Nothing really special, it took her quite a while to get into it, though. The best thing I did about balance was to insist that she ride by herself a little bit, and then stand in one place after I let go of her, so she could see how far she got by herself.

  5. Her Bad Mother replied:

    Oh, I can so feel this day coming for me. Can so feel it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

