got to keep your head up

Sheesh, is this a mommy blog or what? I feel like lately I’m writing about everything but my kids. Let’s put an end to that now.

One of the things I like about the summer is that I get to ride to work every day with the Bee, who goes to camp near my office. We get to have interesting conversations on the ride in, as she asks me all kinds of questions. I often wonder where they come from, but I’m a little afraid to ask, because I don’t want her to stop.

Today, we had a conversation about nuclear weapons. No, really. She asked me if humans will be around forever, and I told her I didn’t know. I explained to her that when I was growing up, many of my parents and their friends didn’t know if their children would grow up at all, because there was so much fear that the U.S. and the U.S.S.R. would get into a nuclear war, and end the human race.

I was trying to explain the Cold War to her, and the competing economic and political philosophies of the U.S. and the U.S.S.R. She said, “do you mean these two countries were in a war just because each of them thought they were better than the other? That’s ridiculous! Everybody knows that no one is better than anyone else. I mean, one person might be good at music and another at art, but that doesn’t make them better people!”

It warmed the cockles of my maternal heart, I gotta tell you.

July 16, 2007. family life.

9 Comments

  1. Suzanne replied:

    Stupid indeed. That’s one wise girl you have there!

  2. chichimama replied:

    Smart girl!

  3. elise replied:

    I live for those kinds of conversations with my kids! By the way, I like that your blog has a lot of variety. Sometimes its about kids, sometimes its about other things.

  4. CamiKaos replied:

    what a clever little girl!

  5. Jennifer replied:

    I’d love to have that kind of time with just one of my kids. When I have them both (nearly always), I can’t focus on them in the same way.

    Clever girl, indeed.

  6. Mary Tsao replied:

    That child is smarter than most adults I know. I love what she said!

  7. fidget replied:

    She is shaping up to be a fine world advocate!

  8. Library Lady replied:

    A chip off the old block, isn’t she? 🙂

    Love those car conversations. My 12 year old rides in with me every morning and we’ve had many the interesting chat on the way to school. Plus the odd quarrel of course–after all, she IS 12!

  9. mcewen replied:

    Yup, feel the warm tingle!
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

