my boy is learning to read!

While we were on vacation, the Potato demonstrated to me his ability to read the word ‘bus.’

I was tremendously excited, but his sister was non-plussed. For me, having my kids learn to read has been one of the most rewarding parts of parenting. The Potato loves books, and like most four-year-olds, has certain ones that he wants to read over and over–lately we’re doing a lot of How Do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight and certain Curious George books that seem to have emerged in the post-PBS Kids era. But until this week, he hasn’t shown off his own budding reading skills.

There’s a part of me that feels the need to make a bigger deal about this that what might seem rational. The Potato, like all second children, has become accustomed to his accomplishments going unremarked (or at least less-remarked). By the time he achieves a benchmark, the Bee has gone on to something bigger.

But learning to read is a big, big deal in our family, and I want him to know that I noticed, want him to know that it’s important to us that he can recognize letters and words. Want him to know that we value reading, and that we prize his ability to do it.

I can’t remember a time when I didn’t know how to read, but I do remember, vividly, the first time I realized that I could read a street sign. I want my boy to remember the moment he first saw the word ‘bus’ on a sign, and understood what it meant.

August 31, 2007. books for kids, growing up.

8 Comments

  1. CamiKaos replied:

    you are an excellent parent.

  2. chichimama replied:

    Yeah! How exciting for everyone!

  3. elise replied:

    I think it calls for a cake shaped like a bus!

  4. Becky replied:

    Excellent! It’s so exciting when the start to “get there.”

  5. thordora replied:

    Vivian is starting to at least recognize more words than just her name, and it’s TOTALLY exciting! I remember one summer not being able to read the parking meter, and the next I could.

    Can’t wait. so awesome isn’t it. 🙂

  6. MetroDad replied:

    Yay, Potato! No doubt he’ll be a great reader with you as his mom, LM.

  7. Jeff replied:

    Congrats to the Potato! How do Dinos say goodnight is an awesome book. I think that is Jane Yolen of “Owl Moon” fame, which is my fave kids book of all time.

  8. Mary Tsao replied:

    How exciting! I’m so looking forward to this event in my mother life. I get happy just seeing my kids holding the books and play reading them.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

