on the lighter side

So I realize I’ve been blogging about some heavy topics lately–here’s on one the lighter side.

What good movies have you seen lately? And by good, I mean fun.

I looked at my Netflix queue the other night and I thought, “who are you?” It’s like 147 items of doom and gloom, or at least violence. (Or, to be fair, a kid video. As if there can ever be enough viewings of Spongebob Squarepants.)

What I’ve got at home right now is Matewan (union organizing drive goes badly, violence ensues). I’ve had it here for at least three days, and I haven’t watched it, because I’m not that ready to be depressed. Other exciting movies on my list? Next up, Yojimbo (masterless samurai in feudal Japan), Frida (talented woman fights her husband and a life of agony), Broken Flowers (allegedly a comedy, but hey, I’ve seen a Jim Jarmusch film or two in my life) and Maria Full of Grace (girl smuggles drugs to America to find a better life).

I just put Knocked Up on my list, because I do love some Judd Apatow. But I’m coming to you, oh friends-of-an-online-nature, to seek spiritual guidance. Or at least comedic guidance. What’s your favorite comic movie?

October 7, 2007. random other things.

11 Comments

  1. chichimama replied:

    I’m very behind in the movie world, but we just watched Wedding Crashers and thought it was hysterical. Knocked Up is in my queue as well.

  2. CamiKaos replied:

    when the world of movies seems soo deep I am always in for a good Monty Python movie. Seems to do the trick every time. I also love Mystery Men and if I want something a little funny and lovey I go with Princess Bride.

  3. alala replied:

    It’s been awhile since I’ve seen a movie, but how about American Dreamz? I found it to be cleverer than I’d expected.

  4. Narya replied:

    Loved Matewan, but that’s because John Sayles is in my personal pantheon (look for his cameo in this movie).

    Favorite funny movies: Monty Python (Holy Grail (“help, help, I’m being repressed!”) and Life of Brian (the Judean People’s Front)); Animal House; Caddyshack (“big hitter, the Lama”); Spinal Tap. Also by John Sayles: Brother from Another Planet. Made me laugh out loud, even though I was alone: My Cousin Vinnie.

  5. Anjali replied:

    I just saw Knocked Up on Netflix. Thought it was slow at the beginning, but overall it was hilarious.

    My favorite movie of all time, comic or not, is The Princess Bride.

  6. Jay replied:

    Lately, none. I’ve been watching nothing but comedies, and they’re all stinkers.

  7. guerson replied:

    I have to second (or third?) the Monty Python. I can never watch them too many times! Holy Grail and Life of Brian are my favourites too although the Live at the Hollywood Bowl show is one of the funniest things I’ve seen… Particularly the sketch about the painting of the last supper (“the fat one balances the two skinny ones”)

    I do watch comedies frequently but can’t think of any really good recent ones…

  8. brettdl replied:

    What’s a movie? Never heard of one.

    I know what you mean about doom and gloom. I think those of us who are aware things are horribly wrong with the world seek out these kind of movies and books as a sort of affirmation.

    We are on a mission to find out what is wrong with the world and perhaps more importantly, why.

  9. Library Lady replied:

    I seldom go to the movies, but what passes for “comedy” at the movies this days seems to be nothing but gross out jokes and not much more. No dialogue, no wit.

    I LOVE old Marx Brothers movies–I could watch just the stateroom scene in “A Night At the Opera” over and over again. And Tracy/Hepburn movies–the courtroom scenes in “Adam’s Rib” are favorites of mine. And I too, am a major Python fan, though I prefer the episodes to the movies, and now own the full set.

    I don’t tend to get a lot of movie movies from Netflix–more series. Recently I’ve gotten hooked on “The Red Green Show” a long running Canadian series that seems to be just about a guy who loves duct tape, but was written with snap and verve. Check out some of the “Possum Lodge Word Game” bits on YouTube and see what I mean.

    And the main thing (embarassed grin) I am watching now on Netflix is all 7 seasons of “Charmed”. Love that show!

  10. Tammy replied:

    I may lose serious credibility points for saying this, but I loved ‘Idiocracy’. It’s a Mike Judge movie that went (wrongly) straight to video, and it’s stupidly funny but eerily on point about the dumbing down of western culture. In a nutshell:

    Joe (Luke Wilson) is the most average man in the US army, which is why he’s selected for a top-secret cryogenics test. The test goes awry, and he end up sleeping for 500 years. While he sleeps, the planet’s population gets stupider and stupider. When he wakes up, he’s the smartest man in the world. Zany hijinx ensue.

    It is, as you might well imagine from the description, awesome.

    Also, ‘Knocked Up’ is great. You won’t regret it.

  11. Ashley McLure replied:

    I love the Jackie Chan/Chris Tucker movies. Rush Hour 1 was my favorite, though 2 did well too.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

