don’t blame me if the economy’s crashing

because god knows, I spent enough money this weekend. But I’m pretty close to done my holiday shopping. This year, I’ve got three themes for my holiday gift-giving:

  1. Baking is good. I plan to bake for a couple of people I usually buy gifts for, in an effort to reduce my tendency to buy people cute things that will sit in their shelves for the next 11 months until they re-gift them. At least the baked goods will be thrown out immediately if they’re not eaten.
  2. Snapfish is better. Because who doesn’t want a coffee mug with a picture of my kids on it?
  3. And Etsy is the best of all. Finally! Funky DIY gifts I don’t have to DIMyself! And how adorable will my niece look in this?

All kidding aside, I am making stuff for my kids this year, too. But I haven’t even started the Potato’s new teddy bear yet, and I’m slightly less than halfway through the Bee’s quilted totebag. Pictures of that stuff will be forthcoming when they’re completed, assuming that happens before 5:59 a.m. on Christmas morning.

Hope everyone had a great weekend, and you’re not stressed out by the holiday rush!

December 2, 2007. random other things.

3 Comments

  1. Yan replied:

    I like that – baking is good!

  2. Tammy replied:

    Wow, our holiday shopping strategies are weirdly similar. Etsy for me, too. And like you, I decided that, this year, home baking and homemade cranberry sauce (and the odd bottle of wine) are being given in lieu of cute dust-collectors.

    We also decided that, not including stocking stuffers, Sam’s only getting three presents this year (admittedly, though, we’re counting a bag of books as “one” present). And while we’re each getting the other person something from Sam, we’re not buying each other gifts. Neither of us really cares about presents (we’re more into the tree and the food), and I can’t tell you how great it feels to be rid of that particular shopping burden — woo!

  3. chichimama replied:

    I need to start baking. But the thought of it makes me cringe…good luck! And can’t wait to see the pics…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

