that’s not the Santa I remember

We got back from NYC last night–landisdad had to work today–and I’m happy to say that this year’s Christmas with landisdad’s mom was MUCH better than last year’s (even though last year’s included an amazing Caribbean vacation).

We got to see a variety of gallery shows while we were in NY, including a hole dug in a floor (prompting landisdad to wish that we had thought of this, when we had our basement finished) and a show in which work by my MIL appeared. And then there was the santa-making chocolate factory.

Now, I will confess that I read the online review of the hole in the floor before we went. But boy, did I wish that I’d read the santa review too! Because I wasn’t really prepared to have to explain the purpose of a butt plug to either of my children at their tender ages.

Fortunately, the kids both didn’t seem to notice the giant words “Butt Plug” on every box. Seriously, do you know how much a four-year-old boy likes the word ‘butt?’ Do you think I could ever have gotten him out of there? Their main complaint was that the free samples were all dark chocolate, and they prefer milk.

I also got to make my annual pilgrimage to Kate’s Paperie to buy my calendar for next year. At this point, I don’t even know if I’m going to keep using a paper calendar–I’m so addicted to Google Calendar, and its shiny, multi-colored, printable and daily update-ability. But I have to have an excuse to go to Kate’s, at least once a year. I managed to keep the financial damage to a minimum, but it was only through a great deal of restraint.

On Christmas Eve, we got to see the NY City Ballet production of The Nutcracker, which the Bee has been wanting to see since her great-grandmother sent her a DVD of it when she was about 3. The Bee sat on the edge of her seat for almost the entire performance. Before the show, we weren’t sure how the Potato would deal with it, so we agreed that landisdad would take him home early, if necessary. But I’m happy to report that, despite having a brief moment of cranky near the end of Act I, he chowed down on some M & Ms during intermission, then fell asleep curled up in his seat during Act II.

And then, finally, it was Christmas. Too much food, lots of new books, and of course, chocolate (though of the Buche Noel, not bizarrely-molded, variety). The kids even let us sleep till 6:30!

December 26, 2007. family life.

9 Comments

  1. Andy replied:

    Sounds like a wonderful (albeit interesting) time.

    That conversation is one I hope to never have.

    And I can not wait to take my daughter to the Nutcracker. My mom and I went every single year up until I was old enough to start buying my own tickets. Interestig, that’s when it ended, hmmm. Can’t wait to start that tradition of my own.

  2. Anjali replied:

    Sounds perfectly lovely! Glad you are back home safe.

  3. Procrastamom replied:

    Between your experience in NYC at Christmas and Mom101’s it sounds like an absolute dream! Wish I could experience it there too. Glad you had a great time!

  4. thordora replied:

    I really wanted to take Vivian to the Nutcracker, but there were no local shows. 😦 Couldn’t find Handel’s Messiah either.

    Sounds like you had fun though!

  5. Comfort Addict replied:

    Landismom,

    I’m so glad that it went well. Sorry I’ve been gone so long. I’m trying to get back (early New Year’s resolution). I’ll be catching up soon.

  6. Jackie replied:

    The Nutcracker is one thing we didn’t do this year– next year for sure. Your trip sounds great, I’m glad it all went well.

  7. Library Lady replied:

    Balletomaniac that I am, I am SO jealous of your getting to take Bee to the best Nutcracker in the world. I am longing to take my two ballerina daughters, but between time constraints and the incredible cost of the tickets, it just never happens. Instead, we go to a local production where SC and I get to watch the dancing critically and often roll our eyes at the less than Balanchinelike choreography!

    Going to the ballet at Lincoln Center. Sigh… I remember going–I was 10 and had a fancy velvet and taffeta dress I’d have kept wearing forever if only I’d outgrown it.
    And the Snowflake scene–with the snow coming down and the heavenly voices. Lucky, lucky, Bee!

  8. landismom replied:

    LL–it’s funny you should mention that. The Bee, before we left, was asking me why we couldn’t see the local production of The Nutcracker, and I explained to her that there are only three places on earth to really see ballet, and she’s lucky to live within a day’s drive of one of them. I’m a total Balanchine snob too.

    But whew, the cost of the tickets! It was basically our whole Christmas present from my MIL. (well, that and the babysitting).

  9. MommyWithAttitude replied:

    That sounds like a great Christmas!

    I’m cracking up and be warned there’s a blog I read in which the person has lamented that somehow (through no intentional fault of his content) many many people arrive at his site googling “butt plugs”!

    My kids prefer milk chocolate too, but I’m certain if there’s a custom made heaven for me, it’s a dark chocolate factory (butt plugs optional). 😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

