crafty landismom

So I had intended to make Christmas gifts for both of my kids. I like to make gifts for the kids–I try, almost every year, to give at least one handmade gift. In the past, I’ve made stuffed animals, painted hatboxes, embroidered pillows, and last year, I made both of them matching heart pillows for Valentine’s Day.

This year, I tried to make two things–a quilted tote bag for the Bee, and a new teddy bear for the Potato. Neither of them were done on time, despite my having taken off two extra days before the kids got out of school, to try and finish them.

The one that could have been done on time was the teddy bear. But what I made, instead, was the scary bear.

Exhibit A:

img_1113.jpg

I knew this was awful. I didn’t give it to him. I did show it to him, and he backed in to a corner, whimpering. Perhaps next time, I’ll make a less scary bear.

The Bee’s gift, while not done on time (it was a New Year’s gift) was much more successful.

Exhibit B:

img_1112.jpg

I have to say, this is the most complicated thing I’ve ever made. It looks deceptively simple, but it’s the first thing I’ve ever made that had a lining, and it caused me to have to think about sewing things doubly-inside-out (if you think that’s complicated to read, just imagine doing it!). I ended up with one major flaw–the straps have their ends on the wrong side, and I’m worried that they might fray–but considering I was praying, the whole time I was sewing the lining in, “please don’t let the straps be on the wrong side”–I guess I was okay with it.

And after all, a happy customer cures many worries.

Exhibit C:

img_1111.jpg

January 2, 2008. family life.

5 Comments

  1. chichimama replied:

    Nice!!! The bag at least. I’m considering tackling a lined bag, but I think I’ll hold off a bit now :-). I’ll stick with the easy stuff for a while longer!

  2. alala replied:

    You know, later, when the Potato is older and into zombies, the bear might be just the thing… The bag is great, by the way.

  3. Susan replied:

    Yep, that bear is scary all right. But the bag is awesome!! And all those homemade gifts over the years will be a real legacy.

  4. elise replied:

    Every year I make my kids flannel pajamas. They really aren’t that hard, I wish you lived close enough that I could show you how to make them. I would say I could now whip out a pair of pajamas in five hours. Believe it or not cutting them out takes me over an hour! I still don’t do button holes right though (I picked a pattern with only one button!)

  5. landismom replied:

    Elise that sounds great, but I don’t have a sewing machine, and I’d be so afraid to try a big garment by hand!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

