pardon my appearance

But I’ve been vomited on several times this weekend, and I’m not looking my best.

Yes, it’s true, the dreaded stomach flu has made its appearance at Chez Landisville. The Potato (so far) is the only one to have been stricken. There’s nothing quite a special as having a child crawl into bed with you at midnight, only to regurgitate pizza on your sheets.

But, well, what are ya gonna do, it’s all part of the package.

I did get out of the house more than landisdad, though. The Bee had an audition yesterday for our all-town children’s musical, plus I went to see a movie with my sister-in-law last night–Juno, if you’re interested. Which was pretty good–I give it four stars, due to the break-out performance of Ellen Page in the title role, and the strong supporting cast. (I’ve really liked J.K. Simmons since he was on Oz, though it’s hard for me to see him in anything without envisioning him as Schillinger.)

Last night, the boy was sick again. I think I’m currently washing every sheet we own. Why, oh why, did I get rid of all the bed pads, thinking I wouldn’t need them with no more babies in the house?

We’ve been administering the 3 a.m. Pedialyte popsicles, to stave off dehydration.

And let me give a big shout out to my friends at Feverall. Since the Bee’s days of febrile seizures, we always keep some in the house, and it sure does come in handy for the vomiting. Plus there’s the extra joy of inserting suppositories into a sick kid who thinks you’re trying to torture him…

He’s still whimpery and feverish today, and I’m wishing I had taken him to the doctor yesterday–not because she would have done anything about the stomach flu, but I’m starting to suspect that he might have an ear infection on top of everything else. Fortunately, I’ve got a pretty light day tomorrow, because it’s clear that I won’t be going to work.

January 6, 2008. family life.

8 Comments

  1. Sandra replied:

    Don’t worry, you look fine! I must say, though, I find that as I get farther and farther away from the poop-and-vomit phase of mothering that my tolerance for gross bodily extrusions declines. I used to handle child vomit with aplomb, but these days the idea of someone vomiting on my sheets makes me weak in the knees. I hope your young Potato is feeling better soon.

  2. chichimama replied:

    Oy. I am so, so sorry. May the tummy bug leave your home soon, and may the reat of you stay vomit-free…

  3. chichimama replied:

    rest of you I mean…

  4. Jay replied:

    Oof, you deserve a commendation.

  5. penguinunearthed replied:

    That sounds horrible! I agree with Sandra, it’s harder to take as it happens more often. Hope the Potato is better soon, and the rest of you stay well.

  6. Susan replied:

    I hope the family health improves!
    Curious Girl has a stomach bug today(sick in the car!) Cleaning that darn car seat is not easy. So I wish for all of us a calmer, healthier tomorrow.

  7. Anjali replied:

    Poor baby!

    I saw Juno last week. I loved it!

  8. Comfort Addict replied:

    I so hope that the Potato gets better and that you get more rest soon. Thanks for the recommendation of Juno. Mrs. CA and I have been talking about seeing it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

