fit friends

As a kid, I played out side and ran around all day. In the spring, summer and fall, I probably spent five or six hours outside every day. Although I was already an inveterate reader, my mother would kick me out of the house to get some exercise (and save her sanity, no doubt).

My brothers and I, along with the other kids in our neighborhood, had the run of our block, and at the end of our street was a Catholic school with a huge parking lot, bounded by an enormous field. We rode bikes, played war, tag, Breakout, and other games that now make me wonder if we were all practicing for a life of evading the police.

In my early adulthood, I had a job that actually required that I walk around for three or four hours per night, and  didn’t really worry about my level of physical activity. But as I grew older, a more sedentary lifestyle, both at work and at home, getting regular exercise got harder. And when we moved from California to a place with real winter, and then had the kids on top of that, it became downright difficult to keep up the limited activity regimen I had established.

CamiKaos from Mommified Me issued a challenge last month to the blogosphere–to pledge to each other that we would exercise at least three times a week. I told her I would do it, as long as I could count my new workout: climbing the stairs wherever possible. Since, when I go to my office, I park in a garage where I routinely have to park on the 9th or 10th floor, that does require significantly more effort than you might originally think. (Oddly, I work on the 3rd floor of a 4-story building–it’s just the parking lot that makes me huff and wheeze.

Here’s a thing I know about myself–I hate to exercise. I will, however, concede that I need to do it. But if I can make it not a special thing that I have to do, and instead, a habit–that is what is going to make me succeed.

And look, she made me this adorable button:

00-landismom.gif

February 9, 2008. random other things.

6 Comments

  1. CamiKaos replied:

    you go. And stairs are hard.

  2. penguinunearthed replied:

    That’s a good objective to have. In my building, I regularly go between the 3rd and 7th floor. When one of the lifts was broken last year, I used the stairs because they were so slow, but I’ve got out of the habit lately (mainly because I would arrive on the 7th floor for a meeting unable to talk for 5 minutes). I’ll have to start that again.

  3. jackieregales replied:

    I was active as a kid, but I have always tended towards the sedentary side. I do try and do things like that though- take the stairs, park in a far-away spot in a parking lot (as long as it’s daylight), etc. It’s one of the flaws I have that I feel the worst about.

    Go landismom! You can do it! Rah Rah Sis Boom Bah!

  4. chichimama replied:

    Good for you! And stairs are quite a work out!

  5. Mere replied:

    Good for you – keep up the good work! I soooooo need a work-out buddy. I don’t mind going, I just seem to talk myself out of it before I can even get myself in sweatpants. LOL

  6. Comfort Addict replied:

    I just rededicated myself to an exercise regimen (difficult with all of the demands of home and work). I’m walking about 45 minutes a day, first thing in the morning, 5 days a week. I’m shooting for an hour a day every day.

    Good luck on your fitness quest.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

