is it late June yet?

I’m not sure, but I think I’m going to be even happier about the end of the school year than the Bee. The PTA-related activity that is back-loaded at the end of May and beginning of June is freaking me out. Between the end-of-school parties, the yearbook, the field trips, the school projects, and the need to buy both personal and PTA gifts for the retiring third grade teacher, I’m a basket case.

In my continuing role as a cautionary tale for the other parents in my office, I painted a bobcat at work last week. (Be clear–the Bee was allowed to buy a bobcat–I wasn’t helicopter parenting–it was just the only one I could find was paint-your-own, and she needed it in a final state that night.) There was a lot of hilarity at my expense, and my officemate insisted on being allowed to help. Even my boss ridiculed me, saying it looked like a cross between a cow and a dog, and insisting on calling it a ‘dow’ all afternoon.

Why, oh makers of the paint-your-own-bobcat kit, did you only put red, blue, black, yellow, green and white paint in that kit?

Needless to say, my bobcat did not exactly achieve a color that occurs in nature.

In other PTA-related news, I finally found a vice-president–a very nice kindergarten parent, who has no idea what she’s getting into (oh, those were the days!). The corresponding secretary recently told me that she and her family are moving to another state at the end of the school year. But for a brief few months this year, we had a full slate!

May 27, 2008. the joys of PTA.

5 Comments

  1. Procrastamom replied:

    Oh the end of the year scurry. We don’t have to deal with it for another month, but when it starts watch out! You should have taken a pic of the bobcat.

  2. kate replied:

    Okay, I’ll bite. Why does one need to buy a bobcat (and, where does one find said bobcat in order to buy it?) I’m hoping this wasn’t the gift for the retiring third grade teacher…

  3. landismom replied:

    Okay, so that wasn’t the clearest-written blog post of all time–sorry, Kate.

    The bobcat was for a diorama on an endangered North American animal. Not a present for the third grade teacher. Although at the beginning of this school year, I might have been tempted to buy a real bobcat for this teacher…

    PM–good suggestion. Maybe I’ll take a picture when we get the project back, so you can see my mad painting skillz.

  4. elise replied:

    Yuck. This year I’ve also discovered that the high school teachers like to give out tons of big projects in the last three weeks of school. Thomas is pretty overwhelmed. Between Thomas and ERin I’ve read and commented on so many essays that I’m now unconciously “correcting” everything I read! This is my last year having one in elementary school so I won’t have any more parties, carnivals, field trips, donating food/candy/juice. Partly a relief and partly sad.

  5. Happy Dad’s Day « Bumblebee Sweet Potato replied:

    […] I posted a few days ago, the end of the school year is kicking my butt. Still happening, as the end of the school year […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

