Happy Dad’s Day

to all my favorite dads out there (including the one I’m married to, of course).

It’s a little odd, but I feel like I’m delurking on my own blog to post today. I think I’ve reached that phase, which seems to happen to so many bloggers, of wondering whether there is really any there there, in blogging.

But not today. Today there is free snark, no waiting.

As I posted a few days ago, the end of the school year is kicking my butt. Still happening, as the end of the school year seems to last from roughly May Day through September 1. Last week, in my role as PTA president, I had the great joy of attending sixth grade commencement (I’ve also had the joy of attending 8th grade commencement and the high school’s academic awards night, in my role as distributer-of-US-savings-bonds).

With all this end-of-year activity, I have a whole new understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of various members of the school community. Particularly the weaknesses. Particularly in the area of public speaking.

NOTE: I realize that many people do not enjoy the public speaking. I am not one of those people. While I wouldn’t characterize myself as particularly gifted, I get to speak in public in various settings a dozen or so times a year, and I think I’m moderately okay at it.

However, if you are the superintendent of a school district of any size, you should probably know that you are going to have to speak at a graduation or two. You might want to, in that case, consider visiting superintendentgraduationspeeches.com, or whatever, and cribbing something. Because lecturing the parents of incoming middle-schoolers about how they (the parents) just need to keep an eye on who their kids are friends with? is not going to endear you to those parents. Especially when you, the superintendent, look as if you may be about to enter middle school yourself.

Sigh.

Also? Giving the same speech to the graduating elementary school kids that you give to the graduating middle schoolers? does not bode well.

June 15, 2008. books for grown-ups, family life, the joys of PTA.

5 Comments

  1. Mary McLure replied:

    Oi. That doesn’t sound like it went well. Any way you can anonymously send him a speech for graduations? You could include something like “heard your last speech, thought this one would be more appropriate”.

  2. Velma replied:

    Today is the last (half) day of school, and all I have left to do is bring the donations for the teacher appreciation lunch and raffle in, pick up my daughter and her friend, and watch the friend for an hour or two. And then I am DONE!!! DONE, I tell you – in about 4 hours!

  3. Anjali replied:

    Yikes. He regifted the speech?

    Hmmmm….

  4. K replied:

    Hello! I just discovered you on a link from another blog. I’m another PTA president…but luckily our graduation didn’t have any long boring speeches.

  5. Becca replied:

    Yeah, this blog thing, it’s getting kind of over, no?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

