ending our cable-less life

We’re restoring our cable, effective in January. Actually, we signed up for FIOS, since the three-service deal was only $10 bucks a month more than what we’re paying for phone and internet–adding cable for ten bucks a month made it affordable.

Last summer, when we canceled cable, CamiKaos gave me the great suggestion that I should check out hulu.com. I’ve been grateful for that, especially since they have the rights to the Daily Show and the Colbert Report–two shows I couldn’t have survived without doing our recent election.

But now, it’s gotten even better. Now, they have the rights to Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids.

Landisdad and I watched the first episode tonight, while I was wrapping presents. Another treasured memory from my childhood ruined…

December 22, 2008. family life.

4 Comments

  1. CamiKaos replied:

    You’re scaring me. We’re planning to cancel our cable because it’s an unnecessary expense…. am I going to miss it that badly??? I’ll still have hulu and netflix.

    shaking in my boots.

  2. landismom replied:

    I’d say, if it was just for me, we probably wouldn’t be getting cable back & I would be developing a better Netflix management system (ie–not renting a documentary that sits around for three weeks because I’m really not in the mood to watch it). Landisdad is definitely missing the ability to watch ESPN (and there are like 60 ESPN channels on FIOS), and the Bee tells us almost daily how we’re ruining her life by keeping her from being up to speed on current events on iCarly and Wizards of Waverly Place. We actually didn’t have the Disney channel before, and we will have it now–which will make her breathe a sigh of relief, I’m sure.

  3. Becky replied:

    FiOS. Verizon. [hisssssssssssssss!] Don’t get me started. But, hey, I hope it goes well and you enjoy.

    In any case, have a happy and merry!

  4. jackie replied:

    Our family could not go without cable, so kudos to you all for holding out as long as you could!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

