what’s the high?

Every morning, the kids and I talk about whatever’s on the front page of our newspaper during breakfast. They ask questions about whatever they think looks interesting, and I attempt to translate that into kid-speak. We check out the weather for the day (the kids are obsessed with making sure that they know what the high and low temperature is), and figure out what they should wear. They read the comics, or look at the ads.

I think it’s important for my kids to see me and landisdad reading the paper, and getting our sources of news from the written word, rather than the TV. So I was pretty depressed recently when our local paper filed for bankruptcy.

Getting a newspaper delivered every day (2 on Sunday, with the Times) is one of the hallmarks of adulthood for me. I don’t always have time to read the whole thing, but it’s still important to know that it’s there.

It seems like we’re very close to the day when there just aren’t any daily papers left, and I guess this crazy internet thing is here to stay. But it’s hard to imagine clustering around the laptop on the breakfast table, with the Potato asking, “what’s the high?”

February 26, 2009. family life.

6 Comments

  1. penguinunearthed replied:

    When I was on maternity leave, that was my one goal for each day – to read the paper. So I relate to your newspapers= adulthood feeling.

    I can see us moving to the internet. But I’ll miss those lazy weekend days with friends and all of us reading bits of the newspaper out to each other. Maybe we’ll do it on kindle instead.

  2. Jennifer replied:

    You won’t be gathered around the laptop. You’ll be checking the weather either on your phone or on your iPod.

    I got an iPod touch for Christmas, and now my husband uses it on Saturdays to check the weather at our local mtn — he and my son together!

    That said I do think something is lost when a local paper is lost. Around here the paper is notorious for getting emphasis wrong, so there’s a lot of back-and-forth among the citizenry: Did you see that article? Is that really what happened? etc. Almost a conversation starter!

  3. MetroDad replied:

    I can’t imagine reading the newspaper on anything but paper. Is there anything better?

  4. Becca replied:

    Newspapers are one of my passions–one of the reasons I love going to London is because there are so many crazy diverse papers. My kids are also quite into the newspaper–weather, style, Sasha and Malia’s new playstructure–and M will be the only true newspaper reader of her generation…with no newspaper to read! Our paper probably won’t go away (though look at the SF Chronicle!), but it’s getting smaller by the month, sometimes the week. I follow themediaisdying twitterfeed, and it’s so distressing.

  5. Jody replied:

    We don’t get the daily paper, so the kids have long been in the habit of asking us to check weather.com for the day’s high.

  6. the five-year mark « Bumblebee Sweet Potato replied:

    […] it or not, I only wrote one blog post last February, which was about my kids’ newspaper reading habits. The irony of that juxtaposition* does not escape […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

