back to school

For the first time in living memory (well, at least my living memory), school starts before Labor Day this year. The superintendent of our district realized last year that if school started after Labor Day, the kids would still be going in the last week of June, so he decided to break a decades-long tradition in our town.

I didn’t like it then, and I don’t like it now.

We had a kid-therapy session today, and the therapist suggested that we have a talk with the teacher about the Bee’s issues, which have come to be identified as a sort-of OCD-ishness. During the session, we went to the play therapy room, and the Bee and the Potato both had to make up a scene about the first day of school. The Potato’s involved a police helicopter and a T-Rex (god help me). The Bee’s involved going to a circus, a carnival, and finding buried treasure, which the class all shared. They both had ten minutes to pull their scenes together–the Potato finished his in about 2 minutes, while the Bee used up her whole time, and was still putting on the finishing touches while the Potato was telling us about his first day.

My work life is about to heat up again, too, and I’m worried that the combination of school starting and me being gone more is going to cause the Bee to have a setback. I just wish we could hold on to summer for one more week.

August 31, 2009. thoughtful parenting.

5 Comments

  1. elise replied:

    My kids started school yesterday and as usual Sarah (now 7th grade) came home crying….sigh. I did my best to be calm, cool and collected and help her work through the current drama but somewhere in the back of my mind I was really thinking “I can’t believe that we are going through this again.” Logically I realize that this is just the way it is for her, new things are extra difficult for her to deal with but on an emotional level I just want her not to be this way. Then I get to feel guilty because I should be loving her just the way she is…bigger sigh. Then when I have a few extra minutes to really start thinking, I can worry about her future….what will happen when she is an adult and getting a new job….I don’t want her to have to come back to mommy to cry….huge sigh. Well this is just a round about way of trying to give you support…you’re not the only one dealing with start of school drama/issues, sometimes misery loves company. Heck, if we didn’t love these kids so much we could stop worrying about them! ha ha ha.

    AND just to make the week better, I overslept this morning and in this house I’m the one that wakes everyone up….geesh.

  2. She Started It replied:

    You’re preaching to the choir, girl. We started August 10. 😦

  3. theendofmotherhood replied:

    It’s very hard to let go of summer….it seems downright mean to expect people to do it before labor day.

  4. Jody replied:

    We had nine days of school before Labor Day. It was very weird. (And I grew up starting the Thursday before Labor Day, without fail — until my sophomore year, when the MN State Leg bowed to up-north tourist interests and passed a law forbidding starts before Labor Day.)

  5. the five-year mark « Bumblebee Sweet Potato replied:

    […] a jam-packed month, with the tea parties, and various vacation-related events. The kids started school before Labor Day, for the first time […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

